ICC Champions Trophy 2017: A look back at all previous winners

Here’s CricTracker’s quick recap of the Champions Trophy since its inception.

#2 New Zealand – 2000

New Zealand – 2000
(Photo Source)

Much like South Africa, New Zealand too recorded their only win at an ICC event till date in the 2000 ICC Knock-out Trophy. The event, which was hosted by Kenya, witnessed New Zealand and India progress to the final. Chasing 265, New Zealand were assisted by Chris Cairns who scored a fine hundred. Despite Indian skipper, Sourav Ganguly’s hundred and some brilliant bowling by Venkatesh Prasad, India ended up on the losing side.

However, it was those two Indians who topped the charts in the two departments. Ganguly racked up 348 runs at a stunning average of 116, while Venkatesh Prasad finished with 8 wickets.


Page 2 / 7