ICC confirms the final fixtures for T20 World Cup 2020

ICC confirms the final fixtures for T20 World Cup 2020

The opening game of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup will see Sri Lanka square off against Ireland.

Netherlands. (Photo Source: Twitter)

After weeks of pulsating cricket action in the United Arab Emirates, the six teams that will go Down Under for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup next year have been decided. While Ireland and Papua New Guinea qualified for the quadrennial event after they topped their respective groups in the World Cup Qualifiers, Oman, Namibia, Netherlands and Scotland booked their way to the marquee event following their victories in the succeeding playoffs.

As a result, these six teams will join the ninth and tenth ranked Bangladesh and Sri Lanka for the final stage of qualification to the T20 World Cup. While Papua New Guinea, Ireland and Oman will join Sri Lanka in Group A. Netherlands, Namibia and Scotland will be competing in Group B alongside Bangladesh for the rights to qualify for the Super-12.

How will the ICC finalize the groups for Super 12s?

The Group A fixtures will be played in Geelong from October 18-22 while the Group B fixtures will take place at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart from October 19-23.

After the conclusion of the first round of matches, the team that finishes at the top-spot in Group A and the second-placed team of Group B will join hosts Australia, West Indies, New Zealand and Pakistan in Group 1 of the Super 12.

Likewise the team which finishes at the top spot at the end of all matches of Group B and the second-placed side of Group A will compete with India, South Africa, Afghanistan and England in Group 2 of the Super 12.

2020 is expected to be a marquee year for T20 cricket with two World Cups set to be staged in Australia. While the Women’s T20 World Cup final will be played at the MCG on March 08, 2020, the opening game of the Super-12 of the Men’s edition will see howts Australia lock horns with Pakistan at the Sydney Cricket Ground on October 24, 2020.

The opening game of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will see Sri Lanka square off against Ireland at Kardinia Park Stadium while Team India’s opening game will be against South Africa at the Perth Stadium on October 24, 2020.

Group A: PNG, Ireland, Oman, Sri Lanka

Group B: Netherlands, Namibia, Scotland, Bangladesh