ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020, Final: Australia vs India – Australia’s record win, Alyssa Healy’s record knock, A rare innings of 10 catches and more stats

All the statistical highlights from Australia Women’s 85-run win in the final against India Women.

Australia Women
Australia Women. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

Australia Women won their 5th Women’s T20 World Cup title with a record victory against India Women in the finale at the MCG. Alyssa Healy started off the final with a boundary and continued in the same manner throughout her innings.

She smashed seven fours and 5 maximums during her 39-ball 75 to share a 115-run opening stand in only 11.4 overs with Beth Mooney. The left-hander finished unbeaten on 78 off 54 balls with 10 boundaries to power the hosts to 184/4. India lost their top four inside the powerplay and stood no chance of a miracle. They were eventually bowled out for 99 in 19.1 overs with Megan Schutt claiming a 4-wicket haul.


All the statistical highlights from Australia Women’s 85-run win in the final against India Women:

A big defeat in the final for India:

85 – The 85-run win is now the highest in terms of runs in a Women’s T20 World Cup final. This is only the 3rd time in seven editions of the tournament that the team batting first won the final. Australia defeated New Zealand and England by 3 runs and 4 runs respectively in 2010 and 2012 editions.

85 – India’s 85-run defeat in this game is their biggest in terms of runs in Women’s T20 CWC. Their previous biggest defeat in the history of the tournament was by 52 runs in the 2009 edition semis against New Zealand.

The 85-run loss is also their 2nd biggest defeat in the T20I format behind the 105-run defeat against South Africa Women in the 2019 Surat T20I.

Record total in a final:

184/4 – Australia Women’s total of 184/4 is now the highest total by any team in the final of Men’s or Women’s T20 World Cup. The previous highest total was 161/6 by West Indies during their chase against England in the 2016 edition final.

On the same day, West Indies Women registered their previous biggest total in a Women’s T20 CWC final as they posted 149/2 during the chase against the Aussie Women.

Australia’s catching practise:

1 – India Women’s innings is now the first innings in the T20I history across Men’s and Women’s cricket to witness all the ten wickets being “caught” dismissals.

Record knocks from Mooney and Healy:

30 – The 30-ball fifty by Alyssa Healy is now the fastest in any ICC World event final. The previous fastest was recorded by Hardik Pandya in 32 balls during the 2017 Champions Trophy final against Pakistan.

78* – Beth Mooney’s unbeaten 78 is now the highest individual score in a final of Women’s T20 World Cup. Alyssa Healy’s 75 stands second on the list of highest individual scores in the finals of this tournament. The previous highest score in a Women’s T20 CWC final before this match was 66 by Hayley Matthews in the 2016 edition final against Australia.

5 – Healy’s five sixes in this match are the most in any final in Women’s T20I cricket. No other player hit more than three sixes in a Women’s T20I final. Marlon Samuels (6 sixes in 2012) is the only other player to smash five or more sixes in T20 World Cup final across Men’s or Women’s cricket.

Radha Yadav’s record streak:

24 – Radha Yadav picked up a wicket in each of her last 24 matches in the T20I format. This is the longest streak for any player across Men’s and Women’s T20Is surpassing Megan Schutt’s 23-match streak.

A tournament to remember for both Mooney and Healy:

2 – Beth Mooney and Alyssa Healy became the first player in the Women’s T20 World Cup to share two century partnerships. They shared a 151-run stand during the group stage against Bangladesh.

3 – Mooney and Healy scored three fifties apiece in this tournament; the joint-most 50+ scores in an edition of Women’s T20 World Cup. Meg Lanning in 2016 and Natalie Sciver also in 2020 have recorded three 50+ scores each.

259 – Beth Mooney’s 259 runs in this tournament are the most runs by any player in a single edition of the Women’s T20 World Cup. Mooney went past Meg Lanning’s tally of 257 runs in the 2014 edition. Healy scored 236 which are the 4th most by any player in a Women’s T20 CWC. Stafanie Taylor’s tally of 246 runs in the 2016 edition stands 3rd in this list.

352 – Mooney and Healy shared 352 partnership runs in this tournament which are the most by any pair in a single edition of T20 World Cup across Men’s and Women’s cricket. They went past the 335 runs between by Adam Gilchrist and Matthew Hayden pair during the inaugural World T20 in 2007.

Tough game with the ball for Shikha Pandey:

52Shikha Pandey’s 52 runs in this match are the most runs conceded by a player in a Women’s T20 World Cup match. The previous most was 50 runs by Eimear Richardson against Australia in the 2014 edition.

52 – Shikha Pandey became the first Indian bowler to concede 50+ runs in a Women’s T20I game. The previous most runs conceded by an Indian Woman in a T20I was 49 runs by Mansi Joshi in the last year’s T20I against South Africa in Surat.

Schutt surges on to the top:

13 – Number of wickets for Megan Schutt in this tournament; the joint-most number of wickets for any player in an edition of Women’s T20 CWC. Anya Shrubsole also claimed 13 wickets in the 2014 edition hosted by Bangladesh.

10 – Poonam Yadav’s 10 wickets in this tournament are the most for India in a Women’s T20 World Cup surpassing Diana David’s nine wickets during the 2010 edition.

Another good tournament for Taniya:

10 – Number of dismissals by Taniya Bhatia in this tournament; the 2nd most number of dismissals by any player in a single edition of T20 World Cup. Taniya affected 11 dismissals during the 2018 edition hosted by West Indies. No other player affected 10 dismissals in a single edition of Men’s or Women’s T20 CWC.

Healy @ 2000 T20I runs:

2060 – Alyssa Healy completed 2000 runs in the T20I cricket when she went past her individual score of 15. She is now the 2nd Australian after Meg Lanning to complete 2000 runs in the T20I format and only the 11th player with 2000+ Women’s T20I runs.

A final including 16-year-olds:

16y 40dShafali Verma, at the age of 16 years and 40 days old, became the youngest player to feature in an ICC World Event final across Men’s and Women’s cricket. Richa Ghosh, who came into the game as concussion substitute, is the 2nd youngest at the age of 16 years and 162 days.

Shaquana Quintyne of West Indies was the previous youngest as she was 17 years and 45 days old during the 2013 Women’s ODI CWC final against Australia. The previous youngest player to feature in a T20 World Cup final was Mohammad Amir at the age of 17 years and 69 days in the 2009 Men’s T20 CWC final against Sri Lanka.

A rare final on birthday for Harmanpreet:

1 – Harmanpreet Kaur, on her 31st birthday, became the first player to lead his/her team in any ICC World Event final. She is also the first woman to feature in a World Cup final (ODI/T20I) on her birthday.

Dirk Nannes and Dwayne Bravo featured in the final of 2010 and 2012 editions of the Men’s T20 CWC respectively on their birthday. Ryan McLaren also featured in the 2002 Under-19 CWC final against Australia on his birthday.