ICC World Cup 2019: BCB announces the Bangladesh squad for the tournament

All-rounder Mosaddek Hossain makes a comeback in the squad.

Mashrafe Mortaza
Mashrafe Mortaza celebrates a wicket. (Photo Source: Twitter)

After New Zealand, Australia and India, it’s the turn of Bangladesh to name their squad for the most-awaited ICC World Cup in England and Wales, starting Thursday, May 30. In a press conference at the Sher-E-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB), headed by chief Nazmul Hasan Papon, named the 15 members who have eventually made the cut.

Lately, the Tigers have gone through some injury concerns. Mahmudullah Riyad, one of their premier all-rounders, developed a ligament injury during their overseas series against New Zealand last month. On the other hand, left-arm fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman tweaked his ankle in the Dhaka Premier League One Day tournament and has been ruled out for at least a couple of weeks.


Rubel Hussain, who was instrumental in Bangladesh’s quarterfinal journey in the 2015 edition of the mega event, also had a side strain. Mushfiqur Rahim didn’t play the Test series against the Black Caps. Tamim Iqbal also had an injury scare. Shakib Al Hasan recently returned after an injury layoff after developing an injury during the BPL 2019, representing the Dhaka Dynamites.

Ever since last year, he has suffered injuries on the fingers of both hands and even his participation came under the clouds. The Jessore-born also had the undergo surgeries for the same. However, his comeback would be a sigh of relief for the nation. The experienced campaigner is currently playing for the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the cash-rich and prestigious IPL 2019.

A strong Bangladesh squad

As far as the squad is concerned, all of Shakib, Mushfiqur, Rubel, Tamim, Mustafizur and Shakib got selected in the squad. Mashrafe Mortaza, who captained in 2015, has been assigned the role of captaincy with Shakib as the vice-captain. The most unfortunate exclusion was that of speedster Taskin Ahmed, who missed the New Zealand series, owing to an ankle injury.

He was one of the star performers in the BPL 2019 and was selected for the series’ against the Kiwis. All-around cricketer Mosaddek Hossain also made his return to the national setup after being excluded following the 2018 Asia Cup in the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Abu Jayed, who is yet to make his ODI debut, has also been included. Liton Das, Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Mithun, Mohammad Saifuddin, Soumya Sarkar and Mehidy Hasan Miraz are the other players. Bangladesh will play their first match against South Africa on Sunday, June 2.

Here is the full squad

Mashrafe Mortaza (C), Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan (VC), Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Mohammad Mithun, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mosaddek Hossain, Abu Jayed

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from the Indian Premier League (IPL)Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on