ICC World Cup 2019: Team-wise prize money awarded by the ICC

The $4 million prize money for the winners is the highest till date in an ICC Cricket World Cup.

New Zealand team
New Zealand team. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The 46-day cricketing carnival, the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, provided the fans with the best possible entertainment. The 45 league matches and then the 4 knockout encounters were all great fun to watch. While rain played spoilsport on a few instances, it was a treat whenever there was action. While some games were highly one-sided, a few others were absolute thrillers just like the final which England managed to win by a whisker.

Also, this edition of the World Cup witnessed a $10 million prize pot. The winner would be awarded $4,000,000 prize money, which is the highest till date. Also, the runners and the semi-finalists were rewarded handsomely. While the team that came second got $2,000,000 as prize money, the other two teams in the top-four were awarded $800,000 each. Moreover, the winner of each league game was awarded an incentive of $40,000 while the remaining six teams got $100,000.

Here is the Prize Money received by each of the ten teams

10. Afghanistan | $100,000

Afghanistan team
Afghanistan team. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Afghanistan had a tournament to forget. The Asian team, before the tournament started, was expected to upset some of the big teams. A few experts even predicted that they’d enter into the semi-final. But the change of captaincy, poor execution of plans and inexperience didn’t help their cause.

The Afghans came close to a win on a few occasions. They could have defeated teams like Windies, Pakistan and India. However, their efforts weren’t really sufficient. The team lost all the nine games that it played in the World Cup 2019 and thus they get only $100,000 as their prize money.


Page 1 / 10