If you are wondering what’s the meaning of Delhi Capitals, co-owners explain

The Capitals, along with revealing their new name, has also taken a new logo which is about three tigers.

Delhi Capitals
Delhi Capitals. (Photo Source: Twitter)
Shubham Ghosh

Featured Writer

View : 1.3K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

They have made changes with players and captains and now the former Delhi Daredevils have dared to change their names to Delhi Capitals, all perhaps only to see a change in their stagnant luck in the tournament they have been playing for 11 years now. But the nomenclature hasn’t been found to be convincing by many.

Nevertheless, we hope the change of initials from DD to DC (there was another DC earlier, named the Deccan Chargers that won the tournament once but later got defunct) changes the luck of the franchise which last made the last four in 2012.

It’s inclusive

The inquisitiveness about the new name of the franchise saw a reporter asking the co-owners of the Capitals – Parth Jindal of JSW Sport and Kiran Kumar Gandhi of GMR Group about the meaning of it. The question was initially put for Gandhi but he asked Jindal, whose company acquired a fifty per cent stake in the franchise last year, to answer it instead and the latter gave an explanation behind such a name.

“Capitals is… you’re from the capitals. This (Delhi) is the capital of the country. So how do you… It’s a way of calling the team. If you look at the teams, they all have… you know, Mumbai Indians. It’s not Mumbai Indian. So you can ask what is ‘Indians’, but it’s Indians. So that’s the answer for that. You are from the capital, that’s what it means. It’s inclusive,” he said, a video posted on ESPNcricinfo’s Twitter account said.

Here is the video:

The Capitals, along with revealing their new name, has also taken a new logo which is about three tigers. Jindal said it was inspired by the design of the parliament house. He said since tiger is India’s national animal and the three Tiger idea is derived from the Ashok Chakra (the Chakra though has three lions).

It was also announced by the franchise that the team will continue to be led by Shreyas Iyer in the 2019 season. Iyer had taken over from out-of-form Gautam Gambhir in the 2018 season. The Delhi team made the last four of the IPL just thrice in 11 attempts.

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from Indian Premier League, Match Predictions, Fantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.