India A vs South Africa A: BCCI announces two squads for the five-match One-Day series

India A vs South Africa A: BCCI announces two squads for the five-match One-Day series

Iyer and Pandey have been picked to lead the team during the series.

Shreyas Iyer
Shreyas Iyer. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The selection committee led by MSK Prasad has announced two squads for the upcoming five-match One-Day series between India A and South Africa A. Manish Pandey and Shreyas Iyer will lead the teams in the first three and last two matches respectively. All the matches of the series are set to be played at the Sports Hub in Thiruvananthapuram as the series gets underway on August 29.

Iyer is not the part of the squad for the first three matches and he will only take over for the last two games with Pandey not playing those. Vijay Shankar is also back in the mix as he is completely recovered from the toe injury now which he sustained during the World Cup in England in July. Krunal Pandya also seems to be in the plan going forward in the ODIs while Yuzvendra Chahal who only played a solitary ODI in the West Indies is also picked.

The leggie will only play the first three matches as the senior team is set to play against South Africa in the three T20 Internationals starting from September 15.

Ishan Porel and Rahul Chahar also picked

The BCCI announced the squad on its official website and also confirmed that all the matches will be telecast live. Shubman Gill continues to be part of the India A team after his heroics in the West Indies while Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson are the two wicket-keepers who will play three and two matches respectively. The duo might be auditioning for the spot as the second keeper after Rishabh Pant on tours in the limited-overs in case MS Dhoni announces retirement.

In the all-rounder department, Shivam Dube has been picked after impressing many in the domestic circuit last season. Khaleel Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Tushar Deshpande, Ishan Porel and Shardul Thakur complete the pace attack across the five matches.

Here are the squads:

India A team for 1st, 2nd and 3rd one-day: Manish Pandey (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Anmolpreet Singh, Ricky Bhui, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Vijay Shankar, Shivam Dube, Krunal Pandya, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Nitish Rana.

India A team for 4th and 5th one-day: Shreyas Iyer (Captain), Shubman Gill, Prashant Chopra, Anmolpreet Singh, Ricky Bhui, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Nitish Rana, Vijay Shankar, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Rahul Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Tushar Deshpande, Ishan Porel.


August 29 – 1st One-Day – Thiruvananthapuram

August 31 – 2nd One-Day – Thiruvananthapuram

September 2 – 3rd One-Day – Thiruvananthapuram

September 4 – 4th One-Day – Thiruvananthapuram

September 6 – 5th One-Day – Thiruvananthapuram

Watch: 10 cricketers and the cost of their luxurious houses