India at Cricket World Cup Player by Player Analysis

India at Cricket World Cup Player by Player Analysis

India at Cricket World Cup Player by Player Analysis: India have announced it 15-men to defend their honour earned in 2011. Mahendra Singh Dhoni was retained as Captain of the ODI team after he announced his retirement from Tests. Virat Kohli will serve as the 2nd commander. The biggest news about this squad was the exclusion of Yuvraj Singh, Virender Sehwag and Zaheer Khan. The trio served a critical role in India’s WC win in 2011. Virender Sehwag was third highest run-scorer for India while Zaheer Khan was the leading wicket-taker of the tournament alongside Shahid Afridi. Yuvraj Singh was named ‘Man of the Tournament’. This could not be termed unfair as only four players from previous WC could retain their place this time around.

Fans of a specific country are very animated about their team’s chances in mega-events. A team’s chance to win rests in its player’s individual performances. Like drop by drop makes a pond, player by player makes a combined team effort. We have combined the meticulous data of India’s representation at the World Cup. The stats include each player’s contribution in Australia and New Zealand as well as in previous world cups.

Most experienced in Australia/New Zealand: MS Dhoni – 27 matches

Most experienced in World Cups: MS Dhoni – 12 matches

Players Performance in AUS/NZ Performance in WCs
Matches Runs Wickets Matches Runs Wickets
MS Dhoni 27 1008 12 270
Shikhar Dhawan 4 81 First Experience
Rohit Sharma 22 502 2 First Experience
Virat Kohli 13 664 1 9 282 0
Suresh Raina 16 391 2 4 74 1
Ambati Rayudu 2 57 0 First Experience
Stuart Binny 1 0 First Experience
Ravindra Jadeja 13 246 7 First Experience
Ravichandran Ashwin 12 175 8 2 10 4
Axar Patel First Experience First Experience
Mohammad Shami 5 24 11 First Experience
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 5 41 4 First Experience
Ishant Sharma 13 14 19 First Experience
Ajinkya Rahane 5 51 First Experience
Umesh Yadav 6 6 5 First Experience

11 of the 15 players selected will be playing their first World Cup while MS Dhoni will be playing his third World Cup.

*All the stats are updated until January 6th, 2015.