India vs Australia: Vizag to host first T20 international, Bangalore for 2nd T20I

Keeping in mind the security arrangements, the KSCA has requested the ACA for a swap of the T20I matches to be conducted

Chinnaswamy stadium
Chinnaswamy stadium. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The first two T20 internationals between India and Australia to be played in Bangalore and Vizag are all set to get swapped. Due to the Aero India Show as well as the visit of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the Bengaluru Police Commissioner conveyed that they wouldn’t be able to provide adequate security.

Keeping in mind the security arrangements, the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) has requested the Andhra Cricket Association (ACA) for a swap of the T20I matches to be conducted. Here is the mail that was forwarded by Sanjay M. Desai, president of KSCA, to ACA general secretary Arun Kumar.


“As I mentioned to you there has been an adverse development that the Police Commissioner in Bangalore is unable to guarantee the required security support, police bandobast etc. In view of the above, we would request you to kindly consider swapping our T-20 match with yours i.e. you would host the First T-20 match on Sunday, 24th February, 2019 in Vizag and we would host the Second T-20 match on Wednesday, 27th February, 2019 in Bangalore. I would urge you to consider our request urgently and we would be grateful if you can kindly confirm this swapping of T-20 matches to us and more importantly to the Office Bearers,” as quoted by Hindustan Times.

BCCI approves the move for swapping the T20Is

Amitabh Chaudhary who has been the acting secretary of the BCCI forwarded the mail to the CoA. The request was approved by Diana Edulji. Here’s the copy of the mail.

“The forwarded email is self-explanatory. The reasons assigned for acceding to the request are in order. An email formally accepting the request may kindly be sent to all concerned at the earliest. The two associations may accordingly prepare.”

This will be India’s last assignment before the World Cup in England. India are scheduled to play two T20Is followed by five One Day Internationals.