India vs Windies: Indian team announces the 12-man squad for Rajkot Test

India vs Windies: Indian team announces the 12-man squad for Rajkot Test

The home team is also likely to go in with three spinners.

Ravindra Jadeja
Ravindra Jadeja of India celebrates with teammates. (Photo by Mike Hewitt/Getty Images)

India are scheduled to play a couple of Tests against the Windies, starting tomorrow at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot. Virat Kohli’s men didn’t have an auspicious time in their five-match series against Joe Root and Co on English soil by any means and would be keen to turn their fortunes around in the upcoming red-ball fixtures at home.

In the meantime, the Indian team has announced their 12-man squad for the opening Test. In the pre-match press-conference, Kohli, the Indian captain, mentioned that they will give away their playing eleven every time. International cricket teams like England and Australia announce their team one day prior and the same will be applied by India as well.

Shaw to make his debut

In the absence of Murali Vijay and Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul and Prithvi Shaw are likely to open the batting. Shaw was with the national team in the last two Tests against The Three Lions but didn’t get an opportunity. The 18-year-old batting sensation would want to make use of the opportunity and make a place for himself in the Australia tour later this year.

Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, and Virat are the experienced men in the middle order and the onus would be on them as well. Rishabh Pant impressed, especially in England with the bat, however, would be keen to work on his wicketkeeping skills in order to get himself prepared for the series in Down Under. India are also likely to go in with three spinners.

Ravi Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja’s prowess with the willow needs to come to the fore as well. Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav are the likely fast bowlers in the lineup. But the management may also want to give Mumbai speedster Shardul Thakur an opportunity to show his abilities in red-ball cricket at the highest level.

Here’s the 12-man squad

Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wk), R Ashwin, R Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur

[interaction id=”5bb0a56eb2ce126540d8c29e”]

For more news and developments, stay tuned on