India women all set to play a Test match against England

India women all set to play a Test match against England

India last played a Test match in 2014 against South Africa.

Indian Women's Cricket Team
India Women’s Cricket Team. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

England’s women team are all set to flag off their home season with a Test match against the Indian women’s team which is set to take place in Bristol. This Test will be followed by three ODIs and T20Is. After successfully hosting India, the England women will host New Zealand women for three-match T20I series followed by five-match ODI series. In fact, earlier this year in March, Jay Shah, BCCI secretary tweeted that India will play the purest format of the game against England later in 2021.

It will be the first incident after 2014 where the two nations will play a Test match. India women haven’t been part of this format since 2014 when they played against South Africa. However, England women played a Test in the 2019 Ashes. While India hasn’t played the format for so long, it will be a thing to see how would they go about their business when the chance comes.

We’re very excited about hosting India and New Zealand: ECB Chief Executive

“We’re really looking forward to a busy summer in what is a huge year for our England Women’s team, and we’re very excited about hosting India and New Zealand. The two international series will sit either side of The Hundred, and with the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy and the new Regional T20 competition running throughout the summer, it’s a fixture list that offers a lot for both our players and our fans.


“With the 2022 ICC Women’s World Cup around the corner it is of paramount importance that our England team is able to prepare accordingly, and with the team, also due to travel to Pakistan in October we can look forward to an exciting 12 months of international women’s cricket,” said ECB Chief Executive Tom Harrison as quoted by Cricbuzz.

India schedule against England

June 16-19 – Test match – Bristol County Ground

June 27 – 1st ODI – Bristol County Ground

June 30 – 2nd ODI – The Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton

July 3 – 3rd ODI – New Road, Worcester

July 9 – 1st T20I – The County Ground, Northampton

July 11 – 2nd T20I – The 1st Central County Ground, Hove

July 15 – 3rd T20I – The Cloudfm County Ground, Chelmsford