Sachin Tendulkar, Sehwag, Irfan, Zaheer among 12 players to play for India Legends in Road Safety World Series

The tournament will begin on March 7.

Road Safety World Series T20 cricket league
Road Safety World Series T20 cricket league. (Photo by INDRANIL MUKHERJEE/AFP via Getty Images)

Cricketers have come together to create awareness about road safety among the people across the globe. So, a tournament is going to be organized in which many big players are set to take part. The fans are eagerly waiting for their favourite heroes to be back on the field. And, now, Indian legends have released their strong 12-man squad for the tournament.

A total of five nations including Australia, South Africa, Sri Lanka West Indies and India are going to take part in the upcoming T20 tournament named as Road Safety World Series 2020. The much-awaited series will commence on March 7 with games scheduled to be played in Mumbai and Pune. It will be interesting to watch some legendary players like Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara and many more taking part in it.


Irfan, Zaheer and Sehwag among 12 players part of India Legends

As per Times of India, Sachin Tendulkar will lead India Legends in the tournament. The likes of Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Irfan Pathan, Zaheer Khan are also part of the star-studded line-up. In the pace bowling department, Munaf Patel and Ajit Agarkar, who has been reportedly shortlisted for India’s chief selectors’ post, will accompany Irfan and Zaheer.

The former India batting coach Sanjay Bangar will also grave his presence for India Legends while Pragyan Ojha and Sairaj Bahutule will look after the spin bowling. Sameer Dighe who played 6 Tests and 23 ODIs for India will don the gloves behind the wickets.

Earlier, Ravi Gaekwad, the RTO chief of Mumbai had said that the fans have shown lots of excitement towards the tournament. And, he is expecting the fans to come in big numbers to watch the games in the stadium. The schedule of the tournament was released a few days ago and the opening game is set to be played between Sachin Tendulkar-led India Legends and Brian Lara’s West Indies Legends on 7th of March at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Indian Legends Squad: Sachin Tendulkar (C), Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Sameer Dighe (WK), Irfan Pathan, Ajit Agarkar, Zaheer Khan, Sanjay Bangar, Munaf Patel, Mohammad Kaif, Pragyan Ojha, Sairaj Bahutule.