IPL 10 Final, Rising Pune Supergiant v Mumbai Indians – Statistical Highlights

All the records and statistical achievements from the game.

Mumbai Indians celebrate with IPL 2017 trophy
Mumbai Indians celebrate with IPL 2017 trophy. (Photo: IANS)

Mumbai Indians stood as the champions of the IPL’s 10th edition after defeating the Rising Pune Supergiant in a dramatic final which went down to the final ball. After electing to bat, MI didn’t bat well and ended up with 129/8. In response, RPS went just under the required rate as it wasn’t a threatening target. However, once the required rate built up, Mumbai took the advantage and tightened the screws to seal a one-run win to become the IPL champions for the record 3rd time.

Here are all the stats and records from the game:

2 – Number of times in the IPL the team finishing as table-toppers ended up as the champions including this season. Rajasthan Royals in 2008 was the first and only team till MI repeated the feat.


3 – Number of IPL titles as captain for Rohit Sharma, the most for any player. MS Dhoni and Gautam Gambhir have two titles each as captains.

3 – Number of “1-run” margins in the final games in Twenty20 cricket. Two of those have come at RGICS, Hyderabad. The other one being: Bengal vs MP in 2011 SM Ali T20 final.

4 – Number of IPL final wins Rohit Sharma has been part of; the most by any player. This was the 3rd winning final appearance for Ambati Rayudu, Kieron Pollard and Lasith Malinga. Yusuf Pathan also has been a part of 3 final wins in the IPL.

7 – Number of final wins Rohit Sharma has been a part of in Twenty20 cricket, the most by an Indian. Raina, Dhoni and Ashwin have been a part of 6 final wins.

13 – Runs conceded by Washington Sundar in this game, the fewest by anyone in an IPL final. Anil Kumble and RP Singh in 2009 and Ravi Ashwin in 2011 conceded 16 runs in their 4 overs.

117 – Number of sixes Mumbai Indians hit in this IPL season; the joint 4th most by any team in an IPL season. RCB hit 142 sixes in 2016 season.

128/5 – Rising Pune Supergiant’s total in this game is the 2nd lowest total for any team in an IPL final. Previous lowest: 125/9 by CSK vs MI in 2013 final.

129 – MI defending 129 is the 3rd lowest successfully defended total in a T20 final. The lowest is 116 by Westerns v Northerns in 2009.

198 – Runs scored by Ajinkya Rahane in this season against Mumbai Indians, the most by any player in a season vs MI. AB de Villiers scored 174 runs vs MI in 2015.

333 – Runs scored by Rohit Sharma in this IPL season, the fewest he has put up in an IPL season. He scored 362 runs in 2009 season for Deccan Chargers.