IPL 2017: Kings XI Punjab – Statistical Preview

IPL 2017: Kings XI Punjab – Statistical Preview

Here we look at all the records and stats related to KXIP in IPL.

Marcus Stoinis Kings XI Punjab IPL 9
Kings XI Punjab. (Photo Source: Surjeet Yadav/IANS)

Kings XI Punjab is often regarded as Indian Premier League’s Australia, not for their performances but having their squad filled up with Australians as 15 players out of the 87 who have featured in an XI at least once for KXIP are from Australia. The KXIP management has appointed Glenn Maxwell as their captain for the coming season, who will their 10th captain in IPL and 4th from Australia after Gilchrist, Bailey and D Hussey.

Here we look at all the records and stats related to KXIP in IPL.

0 – Number of Twenty20s in which Glenn Maxwell has captained in so far. In fact, he is yet to lead any side he has played in his professional cricket career (FC, List A, T20) so far.

0 – Number of players from New Zealand featured in an XI in IPL for Kings XI Punjab so far. The current KXIP has Martin Guptill and Matt Henry who could be the first ones from NZ to represent them in an IPL game.

1 – Kings XI Punjab is the only team to finish at the bottom in consecutive IPL seasons. They finished at bottom of the table in the previous two editions: 2015 and 2016.

2 – Number of times KXIP featured in a Super Over in IPL: vs CSK in 2010 and vs RR in 2015. They won on both occasions.

2 – Number of 1-run wins KXIP has bagged in IPL: vs MI in 2008 and vs DC in 2009, most for any team. There have been five other games with 1-run margin including one of them with KXIP on receiving end in 2016 vs RCB.

3 – Number of times KXIP bagged a wooden spoon in IPL i.e. finishing at the bottom in the league stage of an IPL season, the most number of times by any team. They finished at the bottom in 2010, 2015 and 2016 season. Delhi Daredevils are only other team to finish at bottom twice. They finished at the bottom in 2011 and 2013.

7 – Number of players scored a century in IPL while representing KXIP: Shaun Marsh, Mahela Jayawardena, Adam Gilchrist, Paul Valthaty, David Miller, Virender Sehwag and Wriddhiman Saha. No other team had more than 5 players scoring a century for them.

8 – Number of consecutive games KXIP has won between 2013 and 2014 IPL editions, their longest winning streak and the 2nd longest in IPL history.

90 – Number of matches Wriddhiman Saha played in IPL, the most capped player among the current KXIP squad. Murali Vijay featured in 100 IPL games but he is set to be ruled out of the tournament due to injury making KXIP without any player with 100 IPL caps.

206 – Adam Gilchrist and Shaun Marsh’s stand for 2nd wicket vs RCB in 2011 at Dharamsala is the highest stand in IPL for any wicket for KXIP. This is the 3rd highest stand for any wicket and one of the four 200+ stands in IPL.

232/2 – KXIP’s total of 232/2 vs RCB in 2011 at Dharamsala is their highest total in IPL and the 6th highest total in all IPL games.