IPL 2018: Looking back at all IPL semis/playoff results

CSK are the only team to have featured in all IPL last-four stage they have played.

IPL trophy. (Photo Source: Twitter)
Shubham Ghosh

Featured Writer

View : 471

6 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on :

The eleventh edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 has reached its playoff stage. Although it looked initially that the tournament was going too predictably with Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Chennai Super King (CSK) and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) rushing ahead to qualify for the playoffs and teams like Mumbai Indians (MI), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Delhi Daredevils (DD) sinking without a trace, things looked more competitive towards the end.

MI and RCB raised their hopes towards the dying stages but eventually failed by losing their must-win last games. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) came back strongly after suffering a heavy defeat to MI which almost saw them going out of the fray and qualified for the playoffs by winning their last three games.

MS Dhoni’s CSK though qualified as the second team but the team was not as consistent as it is generally known to be, winning and losing four games out of eight. But the biggest disappointment of this season was KXIP who won five of their first six games but then lost seven of their next eight to end seventh in the table.

The playoffs of IPL 2018 will begin on Tuesday, May 22, when SRH will take on CSK in the first qualifier at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. KKR and Rajasthan Royals (RR), who had a tense last day watching the MI-DD and CSK-KXIP games but proved to be lucky as both results went in their favour, will be playing in the eliminator at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Wednesday, May 23.

The winner of the eliminator will take on the loser of the first qualifier in the second qualifier also at the Eden Gardens on May 25 and the winner of this game will take on the winner of the first qualifier in Mumbai on May 27.

The playoff system started from the 2011 edition after the first three tournaments saw the more common ‘semi-final and final’ system.

Here is a look at the semifinals/playoff games results in all IPLs since 2008 when the annual tournament started:


Semifinal 1: RR defeated DD by 105 runs at Wankhede Stadium
RR 192/9 in 20 overs; DD 87 all out in 16.1 overs. MoM Shane Watson (RR) 52 off 29 balls and 3 wickets for 10 runs.

Semifinal 2: CSK defeated KXIP by 9 wickets at Wankhede Stadium
KXIP 112/8 in 20 overs; CSK 116/1in 14.5 overs. MoM Makhaya Ntini (CSK) 2 wickets for 23 runs.


Semifinal 1: Deccan Chargers (DC) defeated DD by 6 wickets at SuperSport Park, Centurion
DD 153/8 in 20 overs; DC 154/4 in 17.4 overs. MoM Adam Gilchrist (DC) 85 off 35 balls.

Semifinal 2: RCB defeated CSK by 6 wickets at Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
CSK 146/6 in 20 overs; RCB 149/4 in 18.5 overs. MoM Manish Pandey (RCB) 48 off 35 balls.

Semifinal 1: MI defeated RCB by 35 runs at DY Patil Stadium, Mumbai
MI 184/5 in 20 overs; RCB 149/9 in 20 overs. MoM Kieron Pollard (MI) 33 not out off 13 balls & 3 wickets for 17 runs.

Semifinal 2: CSK defeated DC by 38 runs at DY Patil Stadium
CSK 142/7 in 20 overs; DC 104 all out in 19.2 overs. MoM Dough Bollinger (CSK) 4 wickets for 13 runs.


Qualifier 1: CSK defeated RCB by 6 wickets at Wankhede Stadium
RCB 175/4 in 20 overs; CSK 177/4 in 19.4 overs. MoM Suresh Raina (CSK) 73 not out off 50 balls.

Eliminator: MI defeated KKR by 4 wickets at Wankhede Stadium
KKR 147/7 in 20 overs; MI 148/6 in 19.2 overs. MoM Munaf Patel (MI) 3 wickets for 27 runs.

Qualifier 2: RCB defeated MI by 43 runs at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
RCB 185/4 in 20 overs; MI 142/8 in 20 overs. MoM Chris Gayle (RCB) 89 off 47 balls.


Qualifier 1: KKR defeated DD by 18 runs at Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium Pune
KKR 162/4 in 20 overs; DD 144/8 in 20 overs. MoM Yusuf Pathan (KKR) 40 not out off 21 balls.

Eliminator: CSK defeated MI by 38 runs at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
CSK 187/5 in 20 overs; MI 149/9 in 20 overs. MoM MS Dhoni (CSK) 51 not out off 20 balls.

Qualifier 2: CSK defeated DD by 86 runs at MA Chidambaram Stadium
CSK 222/5 in 20 overs; DD 136 all out on 17 overs. MoM Murali Vijay (CSK) 113 off 58 balls.


Qualifier 1: CSK defeated MI by 48 runs at Feroz Shah Kotla Ground, Delhi
CSK 192/1 in 20 overs; MI 144 all out in 18.4 overs. MoM Michael Hussey 86 not out off 58 balls.

Eliminator: RR defeated SRH by 4 wickets at Feroz Shah Kotla Ground
SRH 132/7 in 20 overs; RR 136/6 in 19.2 overs. MoM Brad Hodge (RR) 54 not out off 29 balls.

Qualifier 2: MI defeated RR by 4 wickets at Eden Gardens
RR 165/6 in 20 overs; MI 169/6 in 19.5 overs. MoM Harbhajan Singh (MI) 3 wickets for 23 runs.


Qualifier 1: KKR defeated KXIP by 28 runs at Eden Gardens
KKR 163/8 in 20 overs; KXIP 135/8 in 20 overs. MoM Umesh Yadav (KKR) 3 wickets for 13 runs.

Eliminator: CSK defeated MI by 7 wickets at Brabourne Stadium
MI 173/8 in 20 overs; CSK 176/3 in 18.4 overs. MoM Suresh Raina (CSK) 54 not out off 33 balls.

Qualifier 2: KXIP defeated CSK by 24 runs at Wankhede Stadium
KXIP 226/6 in 20 overs; CSK 202/7 in 20 overs. MoM Virender Sehwag (KXIP) 122 off 58 balls.


Qualifier 1: MI defeated CSK by 25 runs at Wankhede Stadium
MI 187/6 in 20 overs; CSK 162 all out in 19 overs. MoM Kieron Pollard (MI) 41 off 17 balls.

Eliminator: RCB defeated RR by 71 runs at MCA Stadium, Pune
RCB 180/4 in 20 overs; RR 109 all out in 20 overs. MoM AB de Villiers (RCB) 66 off 38 balls.

Qualifier 2: CSK defeated RCB by 3 wickets at JSCA International Cricket Stadium, Ranchi
RCB 139/8 in 20 overs; CSK 140/7 in 19.5 overs. MoM Ashish Nehra (CSK) 3 wickets for 28 runs.


Qualifier 1: RCB defeated Gujarat Lions by 4 wickets at Chinnaswamy Stadium
GL 158 all out in 20 overs; RCB 159/6 in 18 overs. MoM AB de Villiers (RCB) 79 not out off 47 balls.

Eliminator: SRH defeated KKR by 22 runs at Feroz Shah Kotla Ground
SRH 162/8 in 20 overs; KKR 140/8 in 20 overs. MoM Moises Henrique (SRH) 31 off 21 balls & 2 wickets for 17 runs.

Qualifier 2: SRH defeated GL by 4 wickets at Feroz Shah Kotla Ground
GL 162/7 in 20 overs; SRH 163/6 in 19 overs. MoM David Warner (SRH) 93 not out off 58 balls


Qualifier 1: Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) defeated MI by 20 runs at Wankhede Stadium
RPS 162/4 in 20 overs; MI 142/9 in 20 overs. MoM Washington Sundar (RPS) 3 wickets for 16 runs.

Eliminator: KKR defeated SRH by 7 wickets in Duckworth-Lewis method at M Chinnaswamy Stadium
SRH 128/7 in 20 overs; KKR 58/3 in 5.2 overs (target 48 from 6 overs because of rain). MoM Nathan Coulter-Nile (KKR) 3 wickets for 20 runs.

Qualifier 2: MI defeated KKR by 6 wickets at M Chinnaswamy Stadium
KKR 107 all out in 18.5 overs; MI 111/4 in 14.3 overs. MoM Karn Sharma (MI) 4 wickets for 16 runs.

Stay updated on ‘today’s cricket news‘ with CricTracker.com.