IPL 2018: Ravichandran Ashwin congratulates CSK for the amazing achievement

IPL 2018: Ravichandran Ashwin congratulates CSK for the amazing achievement

CSK won their third title in the T20 extravaganza.

Ravichandran Ashwin
Kings XI Punjab’s Ravichandran Ashwin in action. (Photo by IANS)

The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have been one of the most consistent teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL). They have been a part of nine seasons thus far and progressed to the playoffs on every single occasion. The franchise has always boasted of cricketers who have put their hands up and carved CSK’s glorious journey. The team was banned for a couple of seasons and they didn’t participate in IPL 2016 and 2017 respectively.

However, MS Dhoni’s men made a stupendous comeback and won the 2018 edition of the cash-rich tournament. They locked horns with the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the grand finale last night and comprehensively won the match by eight wickets. The Orange Army was no match for the Super Kings and lost the match in a rather one-sided affair.

CSK’s resolute performance

CSK skipper MS Dhoni won the toss and the decision paid dividends as SRH could only manage 178 runs in their 20 overs on a pitch which had pretty less to offer for the bowlers. The likes of Lungi Ngidi and Deepak Chahar gave absolutely nothing away for the batsmen to work worth. Kane Williamson’s wicket by Karn Sharma turned out to be pivotal in the context of the match.

Williamson scored 47 runs but succumbed to a rather rash stroke. During the run chase, CSK took their time initially as the required rate escalated in the first few overs. However, they didn’t allow that to ruffle them and planned the chase systematically. The batsmen refrained from going after Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Rashid Khan, two of SRH’s best bowlers.

Shane Watson was slow to start with but gradually picked up the momentum as his innings progressed. The Queenslander scored 117 runs from 57 balls to make dictate terms in the match. Ravichandran Ashwin, who didn’t have a great time leading the Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) as they failed to qualify for the playoffs wished the team and congratulated the CSK skipper under whom he played eight seasons in the IPL.

He wrote- “Amazing achievement by @ChennaiIPL last night, 3rd Ipl title and joint best alongside @mipaltan. A big congrats to @msdhoni and his team. #IPL2018,”

Here is Ashwin’s post

[interaction id=”5b0bebb78b3c7b25409311af”]

Stay updated on every ‘cricket news‘ and developments with CricTracker.com.