IPL 2018: Sunrisers Hyderabad announce their new captain for the season

Warner had stepped down from the position following his involvement in the ball tampering scandal.

Kane Williamson
Kane Williamson of New Zealand. (Photo by Kai Schwoerer/Getty Images)

View : 11.1K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Sunrisers Hyderabad has appointed Kane Williamson as their new captain for the upcoming season of the Indian Premier League (IPL). David Warner, the previous captain, had resigned the other day following his involvement in the recent ball-tampering scandal in South Africa. He has been banned by Cricket Australia (CA) for one year from international and domestic cricket. He will also not play in the IPL this season. However, Williamson has accepted the role to step in as the leader of the side and is looking forward towards the season.

SRH is yet to announce the replacement for Warner who was barred from playing in the Indian T20 extravaganza on Wednesday. There are reports emerging that they are in talks with the Sri Lankan explosive batsman Kusal Perera as the replacement but nothing is confirmed as of yet. Earlier, the franchise had retained Warner in the player retention event and had agreed him to pay a whopping amount of Rs 12.5 Crores.

Kane looking forward to the challenge

The official Twitter handle of SRH confirmed the news on Thursday as the CEO of the franchise K Shanmugam announced Kane Williamson at the helm. “We are happy to announce Kane Williamson as the captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad for IPL 2018,” he said in a statement released. The Kiwi skipper also accepted the role in response and was excited about his upcoming stint with the franchise.

“I’ve accepted the role to stand in as captain for this season. It’s an exciting opportunity with a talented group of players. I look forward to the challenges ahead,” Williamson said. He was bought by the franchise for Rs 3 Crores earlier this year in the mega-auction and is expected to join the squad after the second Test match against England which will commence on Friday.

Here’s the SRH squad for this season:

Keep following CricTracker for more news and updates.