IPL 2019: Delhi Daredevils share the list of retained and released players

IPL 2019: Delhi Daredevils share the list of retained and released players

Gambhir has been released.

Gautam Gambhir - IPL
Gautam Gambhir. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Delhi Daredevils (DD) are one of the few teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL) who are yet to get their hands on the trophy. Last time around, they finished as the cellar dwellers after they could only manage five victories from their 14 matches. They appointed the experienced Gautam Gambhir, who moved from Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), as their skipper.

However, he couldn’t weave his magic and stepped down midway from captaincy. The experienced campaigner was also lacklustre with the bat. Shreyas Iyer took over as the new captain. He did well, both as a captain and a batsman, but couldn’t help his team qualify for the playoffs. In the meantime, the franchise has shared their list of retained and released players.

No Gambhir for the Daredevils

Gambhir has been released by the team after his poor show. To be precise, Delhi have let go of 13 players. The likes of Jason Roy and Glenn Maxwell couldn’t quite live up to expectations and resultantly have been released. South African fast bowler Kagiso Rabada missed the previous season and the right-arm speedster has been persisted with for the next edition.

Among foreign bowlers, the likes of Trent Boult and Sandeep Lamichhane didn’t flatter to deceive and they are set to don the Delhi jersey next time around. A lot of focus would again be on the young Prithvi Shaw, who had a tremendous outing the last season.

Here’s the list of retained players

Shreyas Iyer, Prithvi Shaw, Rishabh Pant, Manjot Kalra, Colin Munro, Chris Morris, Jayant Yadav, Rahul Tewatia, Harshal Patel, Amit Mishra, Kagiso Rabada, Trent Boult, Sandeep Lamichhane, Avesh Khan

Here’s a list of released players

Gautam Gambhir, Jason Roy, Gurkeerat Mann, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammad Shami, Dan Christian, Sayan Ghosh, Liam Plunkett, Junior Dala, Naman Ojha

Here is the list of traded players

Vijay Shankar, Abhishek Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem, Shikhar Dhawan

[interaction id=”5bea338c3cea78259855338f”]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.