IPL 2019: Kings XI Punjab release three big names from the squad

IPL 2019: Kings XI Punjab release three big names from the squad

Kings have decided to release 11 players from the squad.

Andrew Tye
Kings XI Punjab team. (Photo by IANS)

On the last day to announce the list of players retained and released, Kings XI Punjab franchise revealed that they’ve decided to let go three big players. Kings tried a lot of new things in IPL 2018 but most didn’t pay off, as a result, the team management was once again expected to make bold moves. They’d also ended the time with team director Virender Sehwag a couple of weeks ago.

While the whole list hasn’t been shared yet, the three players that have been released from among the 11 in all are all-rounder Yuvraj Singh, Axar Patel and Australian skipper Aaron Finch. Yuvraj who was picked by KXIP at his base price couldn’t do justice to his selection and thus was expected to be released.

He played 8 matches last season and could just muster 65 runs, his average was 10.83 which made him a burden in the playing XI. Patel, on the other hand, had a similar outing last season. The left-arm spinner played 9 matches, accounted for 3 wickets and with the bat his contribution was 80 runs.

Players released and retained

Finch who is the limited-overs captain of the Australian team might not be available for the entire or a major duration of the tournament. Hence the team was reluctant to retain him. Apart from these three, KXIP have also released Australian all-rounder Ben Dwarshuis, Indian batsmen in Manoj Tiwary, bowlers Mohit Sharma and Barinder Sran. The other names include Manzoor Dar, the second Jammu and Kashmir cricketer to have been picked in the IPL. Akshdeep Nath and Mayank Dagar were also let go by the franchise.

Kings XI had earlier struck a trade with Royal Challengers Bangalore. They got Mandeep Singh and gave RCB their all-rounder Marcus Stoinis in return. The franchise had also changed the leadership with New Zealander Mike Hesson coming in as the coach.

Retained: Lokesh Rahul, Chris Gayle, Andrew Tye, Mayank Agarwal, Ankit Rajpoot, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Karun Nair, David Miller And Ravichandran Ashwin

Released: Aaron Finch, Axar Patel, Mohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Barinder Sran, Ben Dwarshuis, Manoj Tiwary, Akshdeep Nath, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar And Manzoor Dar, Marcus Stoinis

Traded: Marcus Stoinis For Mandeep Singh

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from Indian Premier League, Match Predictions, Fantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.