IPL 2019: Match 3, Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals – Statistical Highlights

IPL 2019: Match 3, Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals – Statistical Highlights

Here are all the major stats and numbers from Delhi Capitals’ big win over the Mumbai Indians.

Delhi Capitals
Delhi Capitals. (Photo Source: IANS)

The Delhi franchise made a winning start after being named as Delhi Capitals as they continued the supremacy over the Mumbai Indians. Rishabh Pant smashed seven sixes and seven fours on his way to an unbeaten 27-ball 78 to power the Capitals to 213/6 in their 20 overs. Pant’s sensational knock helped his team score 99 runs from the last six overs. Mumbai Indians kept losing wickets and were bundled out for 176 despite a fifty on MI debut from Yuvraj Singh.

Here are all the major stats and numbers from Delhi Capitals’ big win over the Mumbai Indians:

Delhi gets better of Mumbai again:

3 – This 37-run win is now the 3rd consecutive win for the Delhi franchise against the Mumbai Indians in the IPL. They defeated MI twice in two matches during the previous edition.

12 – Mumbai Indians now have lost 12 matches against Delhi Capitals/Daredevils in the IPL; the most against any team. Chennai Super Kings (11) and Kings XI Punjab (10) are the other two sides against whom MI lost ten and more matches in the league.

Pant breaks Dhoni’s record:

18 – Rishabh Pant’s 18-ball fifty is the fastest by any player against Mumbai in the IPL. MS Dhoni’s 20-ball fifty during the 2012 IPL Eliminator was the previous fastest IPL fifty by any player against MI.

Pant’s fifty is also the 2nd fastest IPL fifty for the Delhi franchise as Chris Morris got one off 17 deliveries in the 2016 season against Gujarat Lions.

288.88 – Pant’s batting strike-rate of 288.88 is the 2nd highest for any player in an IPL inning. (Min: 25 balls faced) Suresh Raina had a SR of 348 during his 25-ball 87 against KXIP in 2014 also at the Wankhede.

Rahul Tewatia joins a rare list:

4 – Number of catches Rahul Tewatia claimed in this game; the joint-most by a fielder in an IPL game. Sachin Tendulkar in 2008, David Warner in 2010 and Jacques Kallis in 2011 also plucked four catches in a single IPL match.

A new milestone for Rohit:

300Rohit Sharma became the 3rd Indian to features in 300 Twenty20 matches after MS Dhoni (303) and Suresh Raina (303). Both Dhoni and Raina featured in their 300th T20 game in February this year.

MI continue their losing start:

2012 – The last instance when Mumbai Indians won their first game of the season was back in 2012. They lost their first game of every IPL season starting 2013. They lost their first ever IPL game in the 2008 season as well but won their first match of the 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 seasons.

Yuvraj in Wankhede:

2 – Yuvraj Singh has scored only two fifties in Twenty20 cricket from the 15 innings he played at the Wankhede Stadium. He scored 57 for the Delhi Daredevils against the Mumbai Indians in 2015 and now 53 against the Delhi Capitals for Mumbai Indians. However, both the knocks ended up on the losing side.

A wicket in nearly three years for Ishant:

9 – The wicket of Rohit Sharma was the first for Ishant Sharma in nine IPL matches. He went on to dismiss Quinton de Kock later. The pacer failed to take a wicket in his previous eight IPL matches he played since taking his last wicket on 14 April 2016. Ishant went wicketless across the six matches he played during the 2017 season and didn’t feature in the previous season.

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from the Indian Premier LeagueMatch PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.