IPL 2019: RCB release three overseas players for the upcoming season

IPL 2019: RCB release three overseas players for the upcoming season

They will need to pick more batsmen in the upcoming auction.

Umesh Yadav royal challengers bangalore
Royal Challengers Bangalore. (Photo by Surjeet Yadav/IANS)

The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) is one of those franchises in the Indian Premier League (IPL) which hasn’t won the title despite possessing world-class players in the line-up. The likes of Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers, two superstars of the game, are at the helm of the side and no wonder the team is totally dependent on the duo. However, for the upcoming season, they’ve made quite a few changes to their squad and have released three big overseas players.

The franchise has decided to let go off Brendon McCullum, Corey Anderson and Chris Woakes who played most of the matches for the team last season. They have also released Sarfraz Khan having retained him surprisingly last year. With the current set-up, the team looks thin on batting yet again and they will be surely looking to strengthen the themselves in that aspect.

Big overseas releases

RCB has taken some big decisions ahead of the auction next season. They had released Quinton de Kock earlier in the trading window and have also traded Mandeep Singh then who was playing useful knocks lower down the order for his team. They are now left with the large chunk of all-rounders and bowlers and only a couple of batsmen.

It will be interesting to see how they approach the auction next month. Having said that, they’ve released the players who were expensive last season with the ball. Woakes and Anderson were two of the most expensive bowlers of the team while McCullum didn’t live up to the expectations.

Here’s the list of the retained players by the RCB:

Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Parthiv Patel, Washington Sundar, Pawan Negi, Moeen Ali, Colin de Grandhomme, Marcus Stoinis (Traded), Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kulwant Khejroliya, Nathan Coulter-Nile.

Released players:

Corey Anderson, Brendon McCullum, Chris Woakes, Sarfraz Khan, Mandeep Singh (Traded), Quinton de Kock.

[interaction id=”5bea359ec141406b15d1301b”]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from Indian Premier League (IPL), Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.