IPL 2019: Sunrisers Hyderabad share the list of retained and released players

IPL 2019: Sunrisers Hyderabad share the list of retained and released players

Today is the last day for the franchise to release the list.

Sunrisers Hyderabad
Sunrisers Hyderabad. (Photo by Kuntal Chakrabarty/IANS)

Today, November 15, is the last day for Indian Premier League (IPL) franchises to share the list of players released and retained ahead of the IPL 2019. The Sunrisers Hyderabad having already traded out Shikhar Dhawan and traded in: Abhishek Sharma, Shabad Nadeem and Vijay Shankar shared the names of eight players they want to let go and the 17 they’ve decided to retain.

Sunrisers let go all the players who had little utility in the squad or underperformed in the previous season. There were a few big names in that list, the likes of Indian wicketkeeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha, Windies T20I skipper Carlos Brathwaite, England duo of Chris Jordan and Alex Hales. While Saha has struggled with injuries of late it was his performance in IPL 2018 that would’ve prompted SRH to not retain him.

Brathwaite, on the other hand, being an overseas recruit got little opportunities and barring the one significant knock he played in the Qualifier couldn’t make a difference. He just scored 75 runs in 4 matches and picked 5 wickets. Saha featured in 11 matches and other games was out with an injury. The veteran could just contribute 122 runs having been handed the key role of opening the innings. It was expected that the team will look beyond him after that.

Those retained are David Warner, Kane Williamson, Bhuvneshwar Kumar Manish Pandey, Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Yusuf Pathan, Shakib Al Hasan and Siddarth Kaul among others.

SRH still have a rich team at their disposal with a lot of pace bowling options and quality Indian pacers. In the trade, they signed up a young batter in Abhishek Sharma, veteran spinner in Nadeem and Tamil Nadu all-rounder Vijay Shankar.

Sunrisers Hyderabad list of released and retained players:

Retained players: Basil Thampi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Hooda, Manish Pandey, Natarajan, Ricky Bhui, Sandeep Sharma, Shreevats Goswami, Siddarth Kaul, Syed Khaleel Ahmed, Yusuf Pathan, Billy Stanlake, David Warner, Kane Williamson, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Shakib Al Hasan, Abhishek Sharma (Traded), Shahbad Nadeem (Traded), Vijay Shankar (Traded)

Released players: Sachin Baby, Tanmay Agarwal, Wriddhiman Saha, Chris Jordan, Carlos Brathwaite, Alex Hales, Bipul Sharma, Syed Mehdi Hasan, Shikhar Dhawan (Traded)

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from Indian Premier League, Match Predictions, Fantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.