IPL 2020: Match 3, SRH vs RCB – Kohli's milestone win, Padikkal’s record debut, ABD's sixes and more stats

IPL 2020: Match 3, SRH vs RCB – Kohli’s milestone win, Padikkal’s record debut, ABD’s sixes and more stats

Here are all the statistical highlights from Royal Challengers Bangalore’s thrilling win over SRH.

Devdutt Padikkal
Devdutt Padikkal. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

The Royal Challengers Bangalore made a winning start to the IPL 2020 with narrow 10-run win against the Sunrisers Hyderabad on Monday. Devdutt Padikkal, on his IPL debut, scored a 42-ball 56 and with a quick 51 off 30 balls by AB de Villiers towards the end boosted RCB to 163/5. Jonny Bairstow put SRH in the driving seat with his 43-ball 61 as they needed only 43 runs from last five overs. Yuzvendra Chahal got the wickets of Bairstow and Vijay Shankar in his final over to trigger a record collapse resulting in RCB’s win.

Here are all the statistical highlights from Royal Challengers Bangalore’s thrilling win over SRH:

Kohli @ 50 wins:

50 – This 10-run win against Sunrisers Hyderabad is the 50th win as captain for Virat Kohli in the IPL. He is now the 4th skipper after MS Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir and Rohit Sharma to win 50 IPL matches as captain.

A rare player of the match award for Chahal:

2 – Only the 2nd time Yuzvendra Chahal won the player of match award in the IPL. His first award came in the 2014 season in his debut game for RCB. Chahal took 1/18 in his four overs during the match hosted by Sharjah.

De Villiers @ 200:

201 – Number of sixes AB de Villiers has struck in the IPL for Royal Challengers Bangalore. He became only the 2nd player to hit over 200 sixes for a single team in the league. Chris Gayle smashed as many as 239 maximums in the IPL for RCB team.

A solid debut from Padikkal:

56Devdutt Padikkal became only the 2nd player to score a fifty on IPL debut while playing for RCB. Shreevats Goswami scored 52 during his debut IPL match in the 2008 season. Padikkal (20y 76) is also the 2nd youngest player after Goswami (20y 76d) to score a fifty on IPL debut.

1 – Devdutt Padikkal became the 1st player to score a fifty in the debut matches of all first-class (77), List A (58), Twenty20 (53*) and IPL (56).

Padikkal is also the 3rd player to score fifties on debut in T20 cricket and IPL after Mike Hussey, Shreevats Goswami (T20 debut in IPL).

A rare big stand without Gayle or Kohli for RCB:

90 – The opening stand of 90 between Devdutt Padikkal and Aaron Finch is now the 2nd highest for RCB which did not involve Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle as one of the opening partners. Highest is 93* between Jacques Kallis and Manish Pandey during their 10-wicket win against Rajasthan Royals in 2010.

End of Manish and Natarajan’s streaks:

8 – Manish Pandey has been dismissed for the first time in eight T20 innings. The last time he was dismissed in this format was during the 2019-20 SM Ali T20 tournament Super League match. Between his previous two dismissals in this format, Pandey scored 217 runs.

12 – The three runs scored by Thangarasu Natarajan in this match are his first in professional cricket since December 2018. The three runs Natarajan scored in this game are also the first he scored in his previous 13 innings.