IPL 2020: Scott Styris reveals his team of the tournament

IPL 2020: Scott Styris reveals his team of the tournament

Three uncapped players picked in the XI.

Scott Styris
Scott Styris. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

Former New Zealand all-rounder Scott Styris has revealed his Team of the Tournament for the just-concluded IPL 2020. The latest edition of the competition concluded on Tuesday in Dubai. Defending champions beat Delhi Capitals by five wickets in a pretty-much one-sided contest to retain their IPL title.

Mumbai Indians also became the first-ever IPL team to win the title five teams. The huge gap in experience of playing the final was clearly visible between Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals as the former never let the nerves get the better of them. Mumbai Indians were playing their sixth IPL final while Delhi Capitals were making their first appearance in the title-decider.

Delhi were off to a disastrous start and were reeling at 22 for 3 before fifties from Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant helped them post a respectable 156 for 7. In reply, Mumbai Indians chased down the total with 8 balls to spare thanks to a half-century from skipper Rohit Sharma as well as fine cameos from Quinton de Kock, Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan.

Scott Styris’ Team of The Tournament

Coming to Scott Styris’ team of the season, he started by naming Sunrisers Hyderabad David Warner and Kings XI Punjab’s KL Rahul as the openers of his star-studded team. Rahul finished the season as the top run-scorer, scoring 670 runs in 14 games at a remarkable average of 55.83. Warner, on the other hand, led SRH from the front and scored 548 runs to help his side make it to the playoffs.

At number three, Styris picked up Mumbai Indians’ Suryakumar Yadav who scored 480 runs followed by Royal Challengers Bangalore skipper Virat Kohli for number four. The India skipper did not really look at his best in IPL 2020 and scored 466 runs in the season. The former cricketer-turned-commentator completed his batting lineup by naming Ishan Kishan at number five.

For the all-rounder’s spot, Styris picked Rajasthan Royals’ Rahul Tewatia who scored 255 runs and picked up 10 wickets. In the bowling department, he picked three pacers – Kagiso Rabada, Jasprit Bumrah, Jofra Archer and two spinners – Rashid Khan and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Here’s the team

David Warner, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan, Rahul Tewatia, Kagiso Rabada, Jofra Archer, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rashid Khan.