IPL 2022: Gujarati commentary set to be introduced for the first time

Irfan Pathan is one of the top former cricketers to be part of Gujarati commentary panel.

IPL 2018 BCCI Jammu and Kashmir
IPL trophy. (Photo Source: Twitter)

View : 4.6K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The IPL 2022 kicks off on March 26 with the last edition’s finalists Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders battling it out in the curtain-raiser at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium. Just days ahead of the commencement of the marquee tournament, it has been reported that new innovations have been added to the commentary team.

Apart from English and Hindi, the official broadcasters of the tournament have also managed to keep the audience enthralled with Tamil and Kannada commentary in the last few years apart from other regional languages. This time, they have decided to come up with Gujarati commentary with a wonderful panel. This is the first commentary experiment in the language after the state got a new IPL team Gujarat Titans with effect from this season.

We are doing Gujarati commentary for the first time: Sanjog Gupta

“We all want to show how this IPL is different from the previous 14 and what is new in it. This time IPL will have commentary in Bengali and Malayalam on Saturday and Sunday. Apart from this, we will also do commentary of the entire tournament in Marathi language. The entire IPL is being organized in Pune and Mumbai in Maharashtra.

“No other state in India watches as much cricket as Maharashtra. According to the market and this time in IPL 74 matches will be shown in Marathi language. Apart from this, the Gujarat team is new, so we are doing Gujarati commentary for the first time”, said Sanjog Gupta Head (Sports) of Disney Star as quoted by the Indian Express.

The report further states that all Gujarat matches and play-offs over the weekend will be in Gujarati. According to reports, the Gujarati commentary panel will feature the likes of former wicketkeeper-batter Nayan Mongia, veteran all-rounder Irfan Pathan, ex-stumper, and the chairman of selectors Kiran More and one of the popular radio jockeys of Gujarat.

The two-month-long tournament will see 10 teams competing in 70 matches across four venues in two cities of  Maharashtra and they will be placed in two groups. CSK are the defending champions having won their fourth IPL crown in the 2021 edition.