IPL 2022, Match 59, CSK vs MI, Stats Review: CSK register their second-lowest total, Rohit Sharma’s slump, and other stats

IPL 2022, Match 59, CSK vs MI, Stats Review: CSK register their second-lowest total, Rohit Sharma’s slump, and other stats

Four-time winners CSK joined five-time champions MI in being eliminated from IPL 2022.

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Daniel Sams wreaked havoc to break the back of Chennai Super Kings’s (CSK) as the four-time champions got bundled out for just 97 runs against Mumbai Indians (MI). Rohit Sharma and his men chased down the target in 14.5 overs to defeat CSK by five wickets in Match 59 of IPL 2022 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The result means the defending champions CSK are now officially eliminated from the playoffs race.

Speaking about how the ‘El Clasico’ of the IPL went by, Rohit won the toss and elected to field first. They made two changes with out-of-form Kieron Pollard getting replaced with youngster Tristan Stubbs and Murugan Ashwin made way for Hrithik Shokeen. CSK went into the game with the same playing XI from the last match. Sams dismissed both Devon Conway and Moeen Ali for a duck and Ruturaj Gaikwad for just seven runs. An unusual thing was witnessed as Conway couldn’t review his LBW dismissal due to a power failure at the Wankhede stadium, which sparked a controversy. The Men in Yellow then lost five wickets inside the powerplay and couldn’t get going.

Skipper MS Dhoni hung in and remained not out for 36 runs off 33 deliveries, which included four fours and two sixes. But he didn’t get any support from any of his other players as he saw his side getting bowled out in 16 overs. Riley Meredith and Kumar Kartikeya took two wickets apiece to hand CSK their second-lowest total in the history of the IPL. Interestingly, their lowest score of 79 all out also came against MI and at the same venue Wankhede Stadium in the year 2013.

Chasing just 98 to win, wicketkeeper-batter Ishan Kishan managed only six runs while Rohit had another bad day at the office for his 18 runs. Sams came in to bat at no. three and got out for just one run while debutant Stubbs grabbed a two-ball duck. Tilak Varma remained unbeaten on 34 runs off 32 deliveries and made sure he took his side home. With this loss, CSK became the second team after MI to get knocked out of the tournament. For his spell of 3/16 in four overs, Daniel Sams won the Player of the Match award.

Meanwhile, here are some of the important stats and numbers from Match 59 between CSK and MI in the IPL 2022:

 97 – CSK registered their second-lowest total of 97 in the IPL. Their lowest of 79 all out came against the same opposition MI at the same venue Wankhede Stadium in 2013.

3 – CSK recorded the third-lowest total of 97 by a team this season. RCB is on top for scoring just 68 against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and Lucknow Super Giants second for their total of 82 against Gujarat Titans.

1 – First time five wickets fell in the powerplay this campaign.

3 – For the third time CSK lost their first three wickets with five or fewer runs on the board. All the three instances have come against MI.

2 – Devon Conway has just dismissed LBW only twice in T20 cricket.

3 – Tristan Stubbs became the third-youngest (21y 271d) overseas debutant for MI. Dewald Brevis (18y 342d) and Marco Jansen (20y 343d) are in the top two.

11 – Mukesh Choudhary has now taken the most wickets (11) in the powerplay this season. He surpassed Mohammed Shami’s tally of ten scalps.

5 – Choudhary has also snared the most scalps (5) in the first over this campaign. He went past Umesh Yadav’s tally of four wickets.

2 – Five players got dismissed LBW in the game, which is just the second instance in an IPL match. The other game was MI vs KKR at the Wankhede Stadium in 2017.

20 – Rohit Sharma has now gone 20 innings without a half-century in the league.

1004 – Dwayne Bravo reached the landmark of 1000 runs for CSK in the IPL.

4 – MI picked up five wickets in the powerplay for the fourth time in the IPL, which is the most by any team. Rajasthan Royals is in the second spot for doing it twice.

21 – MS Dhoni top-scored for CSK for the 21st time in the IPL and he is third on this list. Suresh Raina (33 times) and Faf du Plessis (26 times) occupy the top two positions.

1 – First time in 67 innings, Daniel Sams batted at no. three in his T20 career.