IPL 9, Match 14: MI v RCB – Statistical Highlights

IPL 9, Match 14: MI v RCB – Statistical Highlights

Rohit Sharma MI
Mumbai: Rohit Sharma of Mumbai Indians celebrates his half century during IPL match between Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on April 20, 2016. (Photo Source: Sandeep Mahankal/IANS)

Mumbai Indians came back well after losing their first two games at home. They defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai by 6 wickets to keep the good chasing record in the ongoing IPL 2016 edition. After being put into bat, MI managed to put on 170/7 in their 20 overs. Travis Head top scored with 37 while Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers and Sarfaraz Khan put on their hands to guide their side to a good total.

Chasing 171 to win, MI lost Parthiv Patel early. However, Rohit Sharma and Ambati Rayudu put on a much needed stand for the 2nd wicket. Rohit scored 64 while Rayudu chipped in with 31. Jos Buttler got out after a quick 28 but it was Kieron Pollard, who scored 19-ball 40 to take MI past the target with 12 balls to spare. Here we look at all the stats and records recorded during the game.

4 – Krunal Pandya became 4th player to dismiss Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers in same over. Jacques Kallis for KKR in 2012, Dhawal Kulkarni for MI in 2013 and Ashish Nehra in 2015 for CSK are the other three bowlers.

8 – Number of Man of the Match awards Rohit Sharma has won in IPL while playing for Mumbai Indians. Sachin Tendulkar and Kieron Pollard also have won same number of man of the match awards for MI in IPL.

10 – Number of times Royal Challengers Bangalore failed to defend a total of 170+ in IPL, the most by any team.

12 – Out of the 14 Twenty20 matches played in 2016 at Wankhede, 12 matches have been won by chasing teams.

20 – Number of IPL innings Rohit Sharma played from 2013 to 2015 while chasing. He failed to score even 1 fifty during that period. He now has two fifty-plus scores in two innings in this season.

27 – Number of fifty-plus scores Rohit Sharma has in IPL. Only Gautam Gambhir (28) has more.

42 – Number of fifty plus scores Rohit Sharma has scored in Twenty20s, the most by an Indian in this format.

50 – Number of 30 plus scores Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have recorded in IPL. Only Suresh Raina (52) has more than them.

50 – Number of catches taken by AB de Villiers in IPL. He became the 5th fielder and 3rd overseas player to hold on 50 catches in IPL.

200 – Harbhajan Singh became 6th Indian to feature in 200 Twenty20 matches. In overall, he is the first spinner to do so.

152 – Number of  sixes Rohit Sharma has hit in IPL. Only Chris Gayle and Suresh Raina have hit more than 150 sixes in IPL.

2380 – Runs scored by Rohit Sharma in IPL for Mumbai Indians. He went past Sachin Tendulkar (2334) to become the highest run-getter for Mumbai Indians in IPL.

What were the talking points of the game? – IPL 9, Match 14: MI v RCB – 5 Talking Points