Irfan Pathan has a message for uncapped players in the Indian squad for Sri Lankan tour

BCCI on Thursday, June 10, announced a 20-member squad for the India tour of Sri Lanka.

Irfan Pathan
Irfan Pathan. (Photo Source: Twitter)

View : 1.1K

3 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will be fielding two different Indian teams. The main Indian squad, under the leadership of skipper Virat Kohli, is in the United Kingdom (UK) for the final of the inaugural edition of the World Test Championship. 

India will square off against New Zealand in the final from June 18 to June 22 at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton. After the WTC final, they will lock horns with England in the five-match Test series, starting from August 4. Meanwhile, a different limited-overs Indian team will be traveling to Sri Lanka for three One Day Internationals and three T20 Internationals. 

The ODI series is scheduled to get underway from July 13, with the next two fixtures scheduled on July 16 and 18 respectively. The three T20Is will be played on July 21, 23, and 25 respectively. For the same, the Indian board on Thursday, June 10, announced a 20-member squad and five net bowlers. 

As many as five players including the likes of Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Nitish Rana, Chetan Sakariya, and K Gowtham have received maiden call-ups to the Indian team. All the aforementioned players have been picked after they managed to catch the attention of the selectors with their impressive performances in the domestic circuit and the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Irfan Pathan has a sweet wish for all the uncapped players

As the BCCI announced the squad, all the debutants received a lot of congratulatory messages from all over the cricket fraternity. Former Indian all-rounder Irfan Pathan also took to his official Twitter handle to send his good wishes to new inclusions. 

“Wishing you guys all the luck for the future. May you guys play long for team India and make everyone proud. @Sakariya55 @devdpd07 @NitishRana_27 @Ruutu1331 @gowthamyadav88 #TeamIndia,” Irfan tweeted.

Spinner Varun Chakravarthy will also be playing his first match for the Indian team during the Sri Lanka tour if he gets selected in the playing XI. However, the spinner has received a call-up to the Indian team twice but couldn’t join the team both times due to fitness concerns. 

India’s squad for the Sri Lanka tour: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicketkeeper), Sanju Samson (Wicketkeeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya