JP Duminy appointed South Africa skipper for the T20I series against India

Christiaan Jonker and Junior Dala earned their maiden call-ups to the national side.

JP Duminy
JP Duminy. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has announced the 14-man squad for the upcoming three-match T20 International series against India. Faf du Plessis and Quinton de Kock continue to remain out of the action due to the injuries sustained during the ODI series. They have rested their fringe players like Hashim Amla, Aiden Markram and the frontline bowlers as well. However, JP Duminy has been named the captain of the new-look squad which also includes the experienced AB de Villiers.

Heinrich Klaasen’s heroics in the last match has earned him the place in the shortest format as well. Even the batsman Christiaan Jonker and the fast bowler Junior Dala have earned their maiden call-ups to the national side as well. The key players have been rested by South Africa with the Test series against Australia set to commence on March 1. The first T20I against India will be played on February 18 at the Wanderers in Johannesburg.

CSA explain the decision

CSA National Selection Panel Convener Linda Zondi cleared that the players from the Test side have been rested for the upcoming Test series against Australia. “With the Sunfoil Test Series against Australia starting only 5 days after the completion of the T20 Series it is necessary for us to rest some of the players who have featured in virtually all our international matches so far this summer,” he said according to CSA media release.

“These include Hashim Amla and Aiden Markram among the batsmen as well as most of our frontline fast bowlers. AB de Villiers has missed quite a lot of cricket this summer so he will play in the T20 Series,” he added. Zondi also cleared that Imran Tahir is still their preferred spinner in the shorter formats and has been rested.

“We have also decided to give Imran Tahir a break. He remains our first-choice spin bowler in both white ball formats. but we need to give more game time to Tabraiz Shamsi and Aaron Phangiso. The next ICC World Twenty20 is not all that far away in 2020 so it is important that we develop and examine our resources for that tournament,” Zondi explained.

“Christiaan Jonker has been one of the most explosive finishers in domestic T20 cricket in recent seasons and his selection, together with that of Junior Dala, gives players who have performed well at franchise level the opportunity to show that they can compete at the highest level. Heinrich Klaasen’s recent performance speaks for itself,” he concluded justifying the inclusions of Jonker and Dala.

South Africa T20I squad: JP Duminy (c), Farhaan Behardien, Junior Dala, AB de Villiers, Reeza Hendricks, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Chris Morris, Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts.

Keep following CricTracker for more updates on SAvIND series.