Kane Williamson dismissed in a controversial manner in Hamilton Test

 Kane Williamson of New Zealand
HAMILTON, NEW ZEALAND – NOVEMBER 25: Kane Williamson of New Zealand leaves the field after having been caught out during day one of the Second Test match between New Zealand and Pakistan at Seddon Park on November 25, 2016 in Hamilton, New Zealand. (Photo by Dave Rowland/Getty Images)

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson was dismissed in a controversial manner during the 1st day of the 2nd Test against Pakistan at Hamilton. Having won the first Test at Christchurch in a comprehensive manner, Kiwis would have hoped to carry on their resurgence but got off to the worst possible start losing Tom Latham in the very first over.

In the 15th over of the innings, Williamson was controversially given by out by the 3rd umpire after the onfield umpire had ruled him not out. Sohail Khan was steaming in and it was a back of a length delivery. The ball pitched and came back sharply as Williamson was unsure of his initial movement. He was only half way forward and pushed towards the ball.


The Pakistanis started celebrating as they were pretty sure that Williamson nicked it as the on-field umpires ruled him not out. 3rd umpire Ian Gould didn’t have any conclusive evidence to suggest that  Williamson had edged the ball as the hotspot showed nothing and though the snicko showed a mark it was after the ball had passed the bat.

(Photo Source: Sky Sports)

While it was apprehended that the ball took the elbow of Williamson, Ian Gould thought otherwise. He conveyed to the on-field umpire that he had conclusive evidence to suggest that Williamson had edged it and hence asked him to overturn his decision. Some of the commentators stated that the ball might have taken Williamson’s edge as there was a double noise and it might have kissed the edge after hitting his elbow.

Williamson was quite disappointed with the decision and it was quite evident from his reaction but the Pakistanis were ecstatic after seeing the back of the most reliable batsman of the Kiwis batting line-up. The captain’s wicket left New Zealand precariously placed at 39-2 after the end of 15 overs.

This is not the first time that the DRS has come under scrutiny as many cricketers and officials have raised doubt over its accuracy. BCCI had been adamant in not adopting the policy but is using the DRS system as a trial process in the ongoing India-England series.

You can watch the video here.