Kapil Dev and Co. 'unhappy' with pay for sharing their stories of World Cup 1983

Kapil Dev and Co. ‘unhappy’ with pay for sharing their stories of World Cup 1983

A total of 10 players have signed a contract.

Sunil Gavaskar & Kapil Dev
Sunil Gavaskar & Kapil Dev. (Photo Source: Twitter)

They had made the country immensely proud on June 25, 1983, by winning India’s first-ever World Cup in cricket by humbling the mighty Windies in the final at Lord’s. Currently, a film is being made on the historic feat of Kapil’s Devils that had gone on to change the course of the game in the country.

However, even as the fans eagerly wait for the film named ’83’ to relive the happy memories, a pinch of sourness has been reported over the entire matter. It has been reported by the Times of India that the members of that world-conquering team that was called together as ‘Kapil’s Devils’, are “unhappy” over the remuneration they will be drawing for sharing their famous lifetime story.

Ten of the former players have signed contracts

According to the report, a number of members of the team met in Mumbai on Thursday where they expressed their dissatisfaction over the payment of Rs 15 lakh each for their participation in the project. Ten of these World Cup-winning former players have, as per sources, signed contracts for sharing their respective stories on the WC win. With each getting a pay of Rs 15 lakh, the total amount came to Rs 1.5 crore and it was considered to be less.

“That’s a pittance. You’re talking about players who won the biggest trophy ever for Indian cricket. It is 1983 that changed everything for India,” ToI quoted sources as saying.

It was also reported that while Kapil, the captain of the team, himself has a separate contract with the filmmakers, Sunil Gavaskar, another superstar member of the squad did not sign any contract. Among other members of the team were Krish Srikkanth, Madan Lal, Mohinder Amarnath, Roger Binny, Balwinder Singh Sandhu, Ravi Shastri, Yashpal Sharma, Syed Kirmani and others.

In the film, while veteran actor Ranveer Singh will portray the role of Kapil, Tahir Raj Bhasin will play Gavaskar. The feat of Kapil’s Devils was matched 28 years later by a team led by MS Dhoni who beat Sri Lanka in the final at home.

[interaction id=”5c67c4903af4cb2391ed365f”]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.