Kedar Jadhav, Rohit Sharma ruled out of Deodhar Trophy 2017

Kedar Jadhav, Rohit Sharma ruled out of Deodhar Trophy 2017

(Photo Source: BCCI)

Team India opening batsman Rohit Sharma and middle order wicket-keeper batsman Kedar Jadhav have been ruled out of the upcoming Deodhar Trophy 2017 due to injuries. The news has come in after the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has officially released a statement regarding the same. The BCCI statement stated that Rohit Sharma has suffered a knee injury and the board has subsequently asked him to rest.

Rohit is one of the regular members of the limited overs setup for India and keeping him fit for the longer run is in the best interest of the BCCI. He is being expected to play a key role for the Indian team in the Champions Trophy this year.

Meanwhile, on the other hand, Kedar Jadhav, the find of the season for India, has been ruled out due a stomach-related ailment. “Rohit suffered a minor knee injury and has been advised rest by the BCCI medical team while Kedar Jadhav has been rested due to stomach-related ailment,” a BCCI statement quoted.

The board has also named the replacements for the two players. New found batting sensation from Maharashtra Ruturaj Gaikwad has been drafted in the India Blue side. Hyderabad player Chama Milind had been named in the India Red team.

Also, Bengal wicketkeeper Sreevats Goswami, who recently impressed in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Rohit, who was expected to lead India Blue in the Deodhar Trophy, will now be replaced by veteran Punjab player Harbhajan Singh as the captain. The tournament kicks off on March 25 and ends on March 29.

India ‘Blue’:

Harbhajan Singh (Captain), Mandeep Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ambati Rayudu, Manoj Tiwary, Rishabh Pant (wk), Deepak Hooda, Krunal Pandya, Shahbaz Nadeem, Siddarth Kaul, Shardul Thakur, Prasidh Krishna, Pankaj Rao, Ruturaj Gaikwad.

India ‘Red’:

Parthiv Patel (Captain & wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Mayank Agarwal, Ishank Jaggi, Gurkeerat Mann, Axar Patel, Akshay Karnewar, Ashok Dinda, Kulwant Khejroliya, Dhawal Kulkarni, Govinda Poddar, Sreevats Goswami, CV Milind.