KPL 2015 Match 14 - Mysuru Warriors suffer their 3rd loss of the season

KPL 2015 Match 14 – Mysuru Warriors suffer their 3rd loss of the season

KPL 2015 Match 14KPL 2015 Match 14 – Mysuru Warriors suffer their 3rd loss of the season: Mysuru Warriors’ fortunes haven’t been on a better side as the defending champions of KPL lost against the Belagavi Pathers in a rain hurtled match at the KSCA Cricket Ground, Hubli. Mysuru Warriors needed 96 according to VJD method in 10 overs, who fell short just by 21 runs.

The match got delayed for an hour as the drizzle continued even after scheduled time. Once the rain made its way, the match length was reduced to 17-overs each and Mysuru Warriors decided to bowl after winning the toss. CM Gautam missed out the game due to injury and Nihal Ullal made into XI in place of the experienced keeper batsman. Warriors got off to a great start with the ball as their pacemen picked up 2 crucial wickets of Belagavi Panthers.

After a tight first over from Suchith, Sunil Kumar got the big wicket for Mayank Agarwal who scored a century in the previous game he played. In the next over, it was David Mathias’ turn as he sent Pusthak Nag for a duck. Panthers survived a couple of close moments just before rain interrupted the game.

Panthers were struggling at 33 for 2 in 5.2 overs and rain break was a blessing in disguise as they batted with an ease after resumption. With over 70 minutes delay, the match was cut down to 10 overs. Panthers’ captain Vinay Kumar charged with a quick fire innings as he scored 52 in just 28 balls with 5 fours and 3 sixes. His stand of 74 runs with Abhishek Reddy came in just 41 balls which was broken by Suchith in the final over by cleaning up Vinay Kumar. He picked up wicket of Abhishek Reddy played a sheer anchor role scoring 32. Panthers finished on 91 for 4 in the restricted 10 overs and Mysuru Warriors required 96 runs in 10 overs after VJD method adjustment.

In a critical chase, Mysuru Warriors started off well only till they suffered a huge blow on last ball of 2nd over. Arjun Hoysala, the leading run-scorer in this KPL season so far got out trying to pull a short delivery. With the required run-rate being bit high, Warriors’ players had to take extra risks which costed didn’t worked out for them.

Mysuru Warriors were 39 for loss of 3 wickets at half way stage needing another 57 to win. 8th over produced 14 runs but it also seen the Warriors’ losing 2 wickets in it. Eventually, Warriors finished at 74 for 9 with Shoaib Manager top scoring with 11.

Brief Scorecard of KPL 2015 Match 14:

Belagavi Panthers: 91 for 4 in 10 overs (R Vinay Kumar 52; J Suchith 2/6, DK Maithias 1/7, DH Sunil Kumar 1/10)

Mysuru Warriors: 74 for 9 in 10 overs (S Manager 11, MK Pandey 9; NV Prasad 3/18, R Vinay Kumar 2/13)