KPL 2015 Qualifier I: Bijapur Bulls v Belagavi Panthers

KPL 2015 Qualifier I: Bijapur Bulls v Belagavi Panthers

KPL 2015 Qualifier IKPL 2015 Qualifier I: Bijapur Bulls v Belagavi Panthers: Mysuru, Sept 18: A fine 50 by No.3 bat, Robin Uthappa and his 73-run second wicket partnership for the second wicket enable Bijapur Bulls storm into the final of the Karbonn Smart KPL 2015 here on Friday.

Taking on last year’s finalists Belagavi Panthers in the first qualifier, the Bulls depicted good allround work in the contest to romp home comfortable six-wicket winners and take their spot in the title tilt.

Chasing the Panthers’ meager 118, the Bulls lost opener Samarth (0) off the second ball of the innings. But Robin and Rajoo Bhatkal (23), dropped when yet to open his account, stayed cal and went about their job of stabilizing the innings.

Once set, Uthappa began freeing his shoulders and hammered five fours and three sixes in the 41 balls he faced putting his team on the road to victory.

Bhatkal fell soon after but Suneel Raju (19 N.O.) showed the right approach and along with Nidesh M (11 N.O.) guided the team past the winning post.

Earlier, some disciplined bowling by the Bulls saw the Panthers struggling. Runs were not easy to come on a wicket that was slow and the Panthers batsmen went for their shots and paid the price.

Veteran leftarm spinner KP Appanna and young leggie KC Cariappa bowled intelligently to claim three wickets apiece even as four opposition batsmen got into double figures but failed to capitalize on the starts.

Belagavi will now clash in an all cats affair with Hubali Tigers in Qualifier II on Saturday with the winner earning the right to take on Bijapur in the final on Sunday.