KSCA announces new head coaches for upcoming season

The new duo will be replacing the successful duo of PV Shashikanth and G Anil Kumar.

Sreenath Aravind of Karnataka
Sreenath Aravind of Karnataka. (Photo by Vipin Kumar/Hindustan Times via Getty Images).

The Karnataka State Cricket Association have named the coaches for the upcoming domestic season. Prominent former cricketers Yere Goud and Sreenath Aravind have been named as the new coaches of the team. The news was confirmed by the KSCA on Friday, June 8. Yere Goud is set to take over as the new batting coach of the side. Meanwhile, Aravind will be taking over the duties of the bowling coach.

Aravind and Goud will be replacing the successful duo of PV Shashikanth and G Anil Kumar. It is worth noting that Shashikanth and Anil Kumar were appointed as the coaches of the team last year itself. They were highly successful in building up a core team that enjoyed tremendous success on the field.


Commenting on the experience of the new coaches, Yere Goud had a highly successful First Class career. He played for almost 17 years in the Indian domestic circuit to be one of the veterans of the game. He served the Railways in the First Class cricket for almost a decade. During his playing days, he went on to amass 7000 runs at a prolific average of 45.53. He retired from the game in the year 2012.

Aravind’s prolific career

On the other hand, Sreenath Aravind enjoyed a very successful career with the Karnataka side in the First Class cricket. He will be a handy addition on the coaching roster since he has played with the current lot of players. He announced his retirement from the game after the conclusion of the last domestic season. Aravind played 56 First Class matches for the state team in which he returned with 186 wickets.

During his career, he managed to feature in one T20I for the Indian team as well. He made his international debut against South Africa in 2015. Apart from this, he was also quite succcessful in the IPL whilst representing the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Talking about the form of the domestic side, Karnataka, the state team is one of the most dominant forces in the Indian domestic circuit at the moment. Karnataka made it to the finals of the Ranji Trophy last season. They lost to Vidarbha in the marquee ultimate clash of the season. They went on to win the limited overs series though. They were crowned the champions in the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Stay updated on ‘today’s cricket news‘ with