Laxman Sivaramakrishnan picks his all-time India Test XI

Laxman Sivaramakrishnan
Laxman Sivaramakrishnan. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Former Indian cricketer Laxman Sivaramakrishnan has picks his all-time Indian XI. The ex-leg spinner, who now works as a commentator, picked his ‘Dream Team’ earlier today during the ongoing 1st Test between India and New Zealand at the Green Park Stadium, Kanpur.

Sivaramakrishnan’s XI features three out of the five members of the Fab 5 which played in the 2000’s for Team India. Siva also picked two out of the four spinners from the famous spin bowling quartet of the 70’s which dominated team in both home and overseas conditions.


The dynamic duo of Sunil Gavaskar and Virender Sehwag continued to remain the unanimous choice for the openers’ slot. The aggressive pair will be a nightmare for the oppositions. And, even if the pair is broken, then the opposition will crash straight onto the highly durable Rahul Dravid who sits at the no.3 position.

Sachin Tendulkar sits at the No.4 position in the line-up while Gundappa Vishwanath takes the No. 5 position. Kapil Dev takes the fast bowling all-rounders’ place while MS Dhoni is been made the wicket keeper.

Also, read – Watch: Carlos Brathwaite and Umar Akmal emulate Paul Pogba’s Dab celebration

The bowling department is spin heavy with Anil Kumble, Bishen Singh Bedi and Erapalli Prasanna forming the core of the attack. Javagal Srinath is the only other fast bowler in the team apart from Kapil Dev.

Siva’s commentary partner Sanjay Manjrekar also named his all-time XI yesterday.  His team also comprised of players mainly from the 70s era.

The team: Sunil Gavaskar (C), Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Gundappa Viswanath, Kapil Dev, MS Dhoni (wk), Anil Kumble, Javagal Srinath, Bishan Bedi, Erapalli Prasanna