LLC 2022: GMR's newly acquired franchise gets named India Capitals

GMR and Adani groups have bought two franchises in Legends League Cricket, commencing later next month.

View : 1.3K

2 Min Read

Eoin Morgan
Eoin Morgan. (Photo by Philip Brown/Popperfoto/Popperfoto via Getty Images)

India’s leading infrastructure conglomerate GMR group announced its involvement in the upcoming second edition of the Legend League Cricket (LLC) by acquiring a franchise on Thursday. The group revealed the name of the franchise in its latest announcement as ‘India Capitals’, on Friday.

GMR group, who co-owns Indian Premier League side Delhi Capitals, recently spread its wings to global franchise leagues by acquiring Dubai capitals in the newly announced International League T20 (ILT20), set to commence in January next year. 

The MD of the company, Kiran Kumar Grandhi, expressed his pride in the company’s latest venture to acquire a franchise in the popular league. He stated that it will give the world a glorious chance to see renowned cricketers, who made the sport what it is, play together in a team.

“It gives me a lot of pride and happiness to announce GMR Sports’ new team in the latest avatar of the legends cricket league — India Capitals. GMR has been in close relationship with the sport of cricket for nearly two decades now. What makes this association sweeter is the fact that Legends Cricket League will feature some of the best cricketers who have played a very definitive role in popularising this beautiful sport not only in every corner of India but globally as well,” said Kiran Kumar Grandhi as quoted by News18.

GMR have acquired India Capitals, while Adani group owns the Gujarat Giants

The second season of the competition will follow a new format with four franchise teams, unlike the last season, which followed a three-teams format. The teams then were India, Asia Lions, and World Giants. LLC is set to commence from September 16 onwards with a special inaugural match between India Maharajas and World Giants at Eden Gardens, to celebrate the 75th anniversary of Indian Independence. 

GMR and Adani Group are the two groups to acquire a franchise each at an undisclosed sum with two more team announcements to be made in the coming days. The matches will be played in Kolkata, Lucknow, New Delhi, Cuttack & Jodhpur with playoffs, and the finals are expected to be in Dehradun.

“This is a very proud moment for us that we have two iconic groups come in as our partners. As owners of multiple sports franchises, they will bring in immense value to the league,” Vivek Khushalani, founder and chairman of the league said after the league’s association with GMR and Adani groups. 

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store