LPL 2020: Match 11, COL vs JAF – End of Jaffna's winning streak, Chandimal's record fifty and more stats

LPL 2020: Match 11, COL vs JAF – End of Jaffna’s winning streak, Chandimal’s record fifty and more stats

Here are all the statistical highlights from Jaffna Stallions’ first defeat of LPL 2020.

Andre Russell
Andre Russell. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Colombo Kings were successful in breaking the 4-match winning streak of Jaffna Stallions as they clinched a 6-wicket win on Friday. Qais Ahmad (3) and Dushmantha Chameera (2) bagged five wickets between them as Jaffna were seven wickets down for just 87 runs on the board. However, 23-ball 41 from Wanindu Hasaranga got Stallions to finish on 148/9. Hasaranga struck twice in the powerplay with his leg-spin but Dinesh Chandimal’s unbeaten 51-ball 68 and Andre Russell’s 32 off 20 got the Colombo over the line with four balls to spare.

Here are all the statistical highlights from Jaffna Stallions’ first defeat of LPL 2020:

End of Perera and Jaffna’s streak:

4 – This defeat against Colombo put a break to Jaffna Stallions’ 4-match winning streak in the LPL. Thisara Perera, the skipper of Jaffna now has 11 defeats in the 15 matches he played as captain in T20 cricket. All those four wins of Perera as a T20 captain came during Jaffna’s 4-match winning spree.

Chandimal moves on to the top:

16 – Number of fifty-plus scores for Dinesh Chandimal in the Twenty20 format on Sri Lankan soil; the most 50+ T20 scores for any player in Sri Lanka. Chandimal has scored an unbeaten 101 alongside 15 fifties in T20s played in Sri Lanka.

He went past Tillakaratne Dilshan (1 century, 14 fifties), Kusal Perera (15 fifties), Upul Tharanga (2 centuries, 13 fifties) and Mahela Udawatte (1 century, 14 fifties) who have 15 fifty-plus scores each in T20s on Sri Lankan soil.

4/5 – Dinesh Chandimal has 50+ runs in four of his last five innings in the Twenty20 format and a duck in another outing. Coming into LPL, Chandimal had scores of 51 and 51 in his last two T20s and followed it with an 80-run knock in the LPL opener against Kandy. Dinesh did not bat against Galle but scored a duck against Dambulla, his first T20 duck in 11 years.

A fifty with the ball for Udana:

50 – Isuru Udana conceded 50 runs in his four overs during COL vs JAF game; the 4th instance of Udana conceding 50+ runs in a T20 game. He was taken for 57 runs in the 2018 APL game against Kabul Zwanan and 53 runs in 3.5 overs during the 2016 Domestic T20 game against Tamil UC&AC. Udana also gave away 50 runs in a tour match against Cricket Australia XI in 2017.

Qais excels in all leagues:

4/4 – Qais Ahmad’s 3/24 in this game is his first 3-wicket haul of the Lanka Premier League. The LPL is the 4th franchise-based T20 league where Qais Ahmad has played and has taken a 3-fer in all those four leagues – CPL (2), APL (3), BBL (2) and LPL (1).

Also Read

Abbott gets only one over:

1 – Kyle Abbott got to bowl only one over during the COL vs JAF game where he conceded as many as 15 runs. This is the first time in Abbott’s T20 career where he had got to bowl only one over in a completed match.

Abbott had not bowled even one ball in three T20s where his team never walked on to the field for bowling and got to bowl only one over in three other T20s where the opposition’s innings did not go beyond 7th over.