LPL 2021: Yusuf Pathan, Shakib Al Hasan among key players to register for the draft

LPL 2021: Yusuf Pathan, Shakib Al Hasan among key players to register for the draft

SLC has earlier announced that the second edition of the LPL will be played from July 30 to August 22.

Shakib Al Hasan
Shakib Al Hasan of Bangladesh. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Australian all-rounders Ben Cutting and James Faulkner and the South African captain Temba Bavuma have registered for the second edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL). Apart from them, one of the finest and the top-ranked all-rounders according to the ICC rankings- Shakib-Al-Hasan- has also entered his name for the league.

Along with these big names, the likes of Mitchell McClenaghan, Nicholas Pooran, Mahmadullah, Sherfane Rutherford, Ravi Rampaul, David Wiese, and Calum Ferguson are the other few names that have made themselves available.

Ahead of the players’ draft, even India’s Yusuf Pathan has made himself available for the selections. On the other hand, the right-arm leg-spin bowler of Nepal, Sandeep Lamichhane is also on the list alongside Ali Khan of the USA, Cricbuzz reported.

Expressing his thoughts on the entries for the draft, Anil Mohan, the CEO of Innovative Production Group FZE, the official right-holders of the Lanka Premier League for 2020-2024 said, “It is an exciting list and I’m sure fans can look forward to some scintillating performances from them in this edition of the LPL too.”

Ravin Wickremaratne on LPL’s success

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) vice-president Mr. Ravin Wickremaratne asserted his feelings about the positives of the previous edition and the success it brought. Highlighting the same he said, “Last year’s success has certainly made a difference with more players from many cricket-playing countries looking forward to playing in the LPL, which is a very good sign for the League and Sri Lanka cricket.”

SLC had, previously, announced that the second edition of the Lanka Premier League will commence on July 30 with the final scheduled for August 22. The 2020 edition of the LPL was held under a strict bio-bubble environment. The inaugural edition of the tournament attracted many fans with around 135 million viewers watching the final.

In the previous edition, Jaffna Stallions were crowned as the champions with Galle Gladiators being the runners-up. Danusha Gunathilaka top-scored in the tournament with 476 runs from 10 matches under his sleeves. Leg-spin bowler Wanindu Hasaranga on the other hand was the leading wicket-taker who scalped 17 wickets in the league.

Key players who registered for Lanka Premier League 2021 draft:

Afghanistan: Asghar Afghan, Mohammed Shahzad, Najibullah Zadran, Naveen Ul Haq, Usman Shinwari, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Hazratullah Zazai, Naveen ul Haq, Qais Ahmad

Australia: Usman Khawaja, Ben Dunk, Callum Ferguson, James Faulkner, Ben Cutting

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Mehdy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah

Pakistan: Haris Sohail, Waqas Maqsood, Muhammed Hasnain, Mohammed Irfan, Shoaib Maqsood, Shan Masood, Anwar Ali, Ammad Butt

South Africa: Rilee Rossouw, David Wiese, Jon Jon Trevor Smuts, Morne Morkel, Rassie Van Der Dussen, Keshav Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi, Hardus Viljoen, David Wiese

West Indies: Nicholas Pooran, Sheldon Cottrell, Rayad Emrit, Ravi Rampaul, Dwayne Smith, Denesh Ramdin, Johnson Charles, Rowman Powell, Sherfane Rutherford, Ravi Rampaul