LPL 2022 Player Draft scheduled for July 5

LPL 2022 Player Draft scheduled for July 5

The Lanka Premier League 2022 will kick off on 31 July.

Galle Gladiators
Galle Gladiators (Photo credit: LPL)

The Player Draft for the third edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) is scheduled to take place on Tuesday, July 5. LPL 2022 will be the third edition that kicks off on July 31 and will be played at the RPICS, Colombo, and the MRICS, Hambantota.

The eagerly awaited LPL draft consists of 20 rounds that cover several aspects of the players’ category including International Ruby, International Sapphire, International Diamond A and B, and International Platinum. Apart from all these, there is a special category for the emerging Sri Lankan players below the U23 level which is Sri Lanka ‘Gold Round’.

LPL 2022 Player Draft: Details and Procedures

A total of 353 players are set to feature in the upcoming LPL 2022 draft. The participants consist of 180 overseas and 173 Sri Lankan players (First Class, Internationals, and Ex-Internationals) and the process will be held virtually at 5 PM IST. The event will be held in the attendance of the LPL Governance Committee, and the Franchise Owners i.e. the management and the coaches.

Each squad will consist of 20 players i.e. 14 from Sri Lanka and six overseas. Meanwhile, as per the procedures, if deemed necessary, a team also has the right to retain a maximum of six players comprising four Sri Lankans and two overseas from the previous year’s squad.

The participating franchisees have also been given the privilege of Direct Sign (Pre-Draft) involving two Sri Lankan and overseas players each. However,  the rest of the players have to be picked from the upcoming ‘Player Draft.’

Coming back to the Lanka Premier League,  Jaffna Kings (formerly known as Jaffna Stallions ) are the defending champions and the most successful side of this tournament having won the first two editions. They would be eyeing a hat-trick of titles this time around. Another important thing about the LPL is that the inaugural edition was able to be successfully organized despite the COVID-19 restrictions and the 2021 edition was organized and completed smoothly in the 18-day window in December.

Apart from the title-holders Jaffna Kings, the other four teams include Colombo Stars, Dambulla Giants, Galle Gladiators, and, Kandy Warriors.

Follow the Live Draft Feed of LPL on the CricTracker website and social media