LPL Winners List

The fifth edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) began on July 1 and will continue till July 21. The tournament has gained significant traction in recent times, especially with marquee international players showing interest in participating in LPL. It has been a very important tournament to groom local talents into international stars as players like Matheesha Pathirana, Maheesh Theekshana, and Wanindu Hasaranga gained massive recognition by playing in the domestic tournament.

The 2024 edition will see five teams compete for the coveted trophy as defending champions Kandy Falcons began their campaign against Dumbula Sixers. The top four teams of the league stage will qualify for the next round, as the top two teams will play Qualifier 1, while the third and fourth best teams will play Eliminator. The winner of the Eliminator will play the loser of Qualifier 1 in Qualifier 2, and the winner of that match will be playing the final on July 21.

The tournament started at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Pallekele and will move to Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium in Dambulla on July 5. After that, the tournament will enter its final stages, which will be played at R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Meanwhile, Jaffna Kings have been the most successful LPL team in history, with three trophies to their name. They won in 2020, 2021,  and 2022 while Kandy Falcons won the tournament in 2023. Wanindu Hasaranga led the side and defeated Dambulla Aura (now Sixers) in the final of the competition. 

LPL Winners and Runners-up List (2020 – Present)

Edition Year Winner Won By Runners-up Host
5th 2024 - - - -
4th 2023 B - Love Kandy 5 Wickets Dambulla Aura Sri Lanka
3rd 2022 Jaffna Kings 2 Wickets Colombo Stars Sri Lanka
2nd 2021 Jaffna Kings 23 runs Galle Gladiators Sri Lanka
1st 2020 Jaffna Stallions 53 runs Galle Gladiators Sri Lanka

LPL Winners List with Captain, Man of the Match, and Player of the Series

Champions Captains Player of the series  Player of Match
2024 - - - -
2023 B - Love Kandy Angelo Mathews Wanindu Hasaranga Angelo Mathews
2022/23 Jaffna Kings Thisara Perera Sadeera Samarwickrama Avishka Fernando
2021/22 Jaffna Kings Thisara Perera Avishka Fernando Avishka Fernando
2020/21  Jaffna Stallions Thisara Perera  Wanindu Hasaranga Shoaib Malik

Most Titles Wins in LPL

LPL Team LPL Trophy LPL Winner
Jaffna Kings 3 Times 2020/21, 2021/22, 2022/23
B - Love Kandy 1 Time 2023

*Last Updated on 2nd July 2024