World Cup 2015 Match 24 Group B South Africa v Ireland Preview

World Cup 2015 Match 24 Group B South Africa v Ireland Preview

World Cup 2015 Match 24 Group B South Africa v Ireland Preview:

Date: 3 March 2015        Time: 0900 IST
Venue: Canberra

South Africa
South Africa will be looking to let their good form continue as they simply crushed the West Indian spirits in the last game. They have everything going on for them with batting in top form. Hashim Amla, Rilee Russouw, AB de Villiers, David Miller and JP Duminy all in top form. Only concern that they have is the opening slot with Quinton de Kock throwing his wickets after getting some runs. AB de Villiers should keep wickets to allow both Parnell and Russouw to play in the team.

their bowling is led by Morne Morkel and Dale Steyn with Imran Tahir being the stand out performer for them. He has always being in the thick of the game and going for wickets. De Villiers has seem to give him the license to go for wickets and not worry about the runs he give.

South Africa will look to win the match and confirm the quarterfinal berth.

Quick Link : Latest ICC ODI Rankings

Ireland snatched victory from the jaws of defeats against UAE thanks to Kevin O’Brien’s 50 off 25 balls which took Ireland to the victory.

Ireland’s batting slipped a little but it is not a worry.  But the likes of William Porterfield, Paul Stirling, Ed Joyce, Niall O’Brien will definitely be tested against Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel and Imran Tahir.Ireland need to be ready to face a much better bowling unit then West Indies and UAE in this match.

Bowling wise, they need to work on their quick bowling since the form of Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Rilee Russouw is such that they can easily score another 400 runs in this tournament. Irish bowling will be tested to their full extent against the batting of South Africa.

Last 5 ODIs:

Ireland: W W NR L W

South Africa: W L W W L

Possible Playing XI:

Ireland: John Mooney, Andy McBrine, George Dockrell, Ed Joyce, William Porterfield (C), Kevin O’Brien, Paul Stirling, Niall O’Brien , Max Sorenson, Gary Wilson (wk), Andy Balbirnie

South Africa :  AB de Villiers (c), Hashim Amla, Kyle Abbott, Quinton de Kock (wk), JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Dale Steyn.