MCL 2016: Teams, Squads, Schedule and Fixtures

MCL 2016: Teams, Squads, Schedule and Fixtures

(Photo Source: Twitter)

The Masters Cricket League (MCL) will offer one more chance for the cricket fans to see their favorite heroes in action. Most of the legends retired before they could give something to the Twenty20 format. They weren’t able to make any serious contribution to the newest version of cricket.

The MCL is established with a similar objective of bringing together the legends of cricket for an action-packed Twenty20 tournament. Legends from all cricket playing nations will take part in this tournament. The teams will constitute of the top stars who no longer play international cricket. There are six teams that will first compete with each other once in the round-robin format. The tournament will start from 28/1/2016 and would end on 13/02/2016.

The matches will take place in the United Arab Emirates. UAE is home to cricket enthusiast, many of whom are diehard fans of these legends who have been brought together by the MCL. The tournament surely would be a grand success.

The MCL is not about profits and benefits only. A portion of revenue from the tournament will be used to make charitable donations to qualifying ex-cricketers. Fundraising activities will also be held with the objective of supporting local talent and generating funds.


Capricorn Commanders, Gemini Arabians, Libra Legends, Leo Lions, Sagittarius Soldiers, Virgo Super Kings.

MCL 2016 Squads:

Capricorn Commanders –

Michael Vaughan, Abdul Razzaq, Paul Collingwood, Andrew Symonds, Chamara Silva, Ashwell Prince, Upul Chandana, Ryan McLaren, Jeetan Patel, Rikki Clarke, Rory Kleinveldt, Ben Laughlin, Rizwan Cheema, Geraint Jones, Sunil Joshi, Saleem Elahi.

Gemini Arabians –

Virender Sehwag, Kumar Sangakkara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Kyle Mills, Saqlain Mushtaq, Jacques Rudolph, Naved-ul-Hasan, Justin Kemp, Paul Harris, Brad Hodge, Richard Levi, Ashish Bagai, Graham Onions, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Saqib Ali.

Libra Legends –

Sourav Ganguly, Graeme Swann, Jacques Kallis, Brad Hogg, Ryan ten Doeschate, Ajay Ratra, Chris Read, Sean Ervine, Shaun Tait, Ryan Sidebottom, Michael Lumb, Marcus North, Taufeeq Umar, Nicky Boje, Ian Butler.

Leo Lions –

Heath Streak, Scott Styris, Brian Lara, Herschelle Gibbs, Brendan Taylor, James Franklin, Johan Botha, Robin Peterson, Fidel Edwards, Mohammad Tauqir, Neil Carter, Hamish Marshall, Kyle Jarvis, Ramesh Powar, Simon Jones, Darren Gough.

Sagittarius Soldiers –

Mahela Jayawardene, Daniel Vettori, Adam Gilchrist, Shane Bond, Khurram Khan, Phil Mustard, Tino Best, Nathan Hauritz, Alviro Petersen, Michael Carberry, Krishmar Santokie, Jonathan Trott, Yasir Hameed, Mushtaq Ahmed, Gavin Hamilton.

Virgo Super Kings –

Graeme Smith, Azhar Mahmood, Brett Lee, Jonty Rhodes, Neil McKenzie, John Mooney, Dirk Nannes, Owais Shah, James Foster, Murali Kartik, Malinga Bandara, Gareth Batty, Hasan Raza, Jacob Oram, Humayun Farhat, Mohammad Yousuf.

MCL 2016 Fixtures:

January 28: Libra Legends vs Gemini Arabians, Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

January 29: Capricorn Commanders vs Leo Lions; Virgo Super Kings vs Sagittarius Strikers, Dubai International Cricket Stadium

January 30: Arabians vs Lions; Strikers vs Commanders, Dubai International Cricket Stadium

February 3: Legends vs Super Kings; Arabians vs Commanders, Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium

February 4: Legends vs Strikers; Lions vs Super Kings, Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium

February 5: Strikers vs Arabians; Legends vs Commanders, Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium

February 6: Arabians vs Super Kings; Lions vs Strikers, Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium

February 7: Super Kings vs Commanders; Legends vs Lions, Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium

February 11: Semi-final 1 TBD v TBD, Dubai International Cricket Stadium

February 12: Semi-final 2 TBD v TBD, Dubai International Cricket Stadium

February 13: Final- TBD v TBD, Dubai International Cricket Stadium