Michael Vaughan predicts the winner of the IPL 2020

Michael Vaughan predicts the winner of the IPL 2020

He also felt that Mumbai Indians will always be there as contenders.

Michael Vaughan
Michael Vaughan. (Photo by Mike Egerton/PA Images via Getty Images)

Time is ticking fast as the 13th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is about to begin. With it, the former cricketers have also donned the expert’s hat predicting the winner of the season and the possible playing XIs of all the teams. The former England skipper Michael Vaughan has also joined the bandwagon and has analysed all the sides before finally going with the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to win the tournament.

Dinesh Karthik has been retained as the skipper while the team boasts of the foreign players like Pat Cummins, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell and Eoin Morgan among others. Even the Indian players’ lot is brilliant with them and it will be interesting to see if their investment in youngsters like Shubman Gill and Kamlesh Nagarkoti pays off this season.

When asked to predict the winner of the tournament, Michael Vaughan lauded the depth the KKR has and backed them to win their third title. He also pointed out that the KKR coach Brendon McCullum is coming after taking the Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) to the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) title.

“Kolkata Knight Riders (will win the IPL). Baz McCullum as a coach. I just think they’ve got enough, and with him coaching, he’s just won the Caribbean Premier League, as a coach. I just think he’s going to to have enough,” he said.

Michael Vaughan feels Cummins won’t play all the games

Michael Vaughan also reckons that they have plenty of players who can compete at the highest level during the IPL. He also felt that the most expensive bowler, Pat Cummins won’t get to play all the games with the pitches being on the slower side. However, the 45-year-old is of the opinion that KKR have some quality players who can help the franchise win the trophy.

“There’s plenty there for them to be competitive. Sunil Narine, Kuldeep Yadav, Pat Cummins, probably won’t play all games, Andre Russell, Eoin Morgan, Dinesh Karthik, Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana. Lots of quality in there. It might be that they don’t have enough power in their batting. But there you go. Kolkata Knight Riders are your IPL champions,” Vaughan signed off.