Mohammed Shami not included in Bengal Squad for Vijay Hazare Trophy

Mohammed Shami
India’s bowler Mohammed Shami. (Photo by SAEED KHAN/AFP/Getty Images)

Mohammed Shami was struck with a blow during the Test matches against England. He missed half of the Test series and the whole one-day series and wasn’t considered for the Australia Tests either. He has recovered from the injury but is not back to full fitness yet as he is not included in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2016/17 squad.

Bengal announced their squad and Shami doesn’t make it. He was speculated to feature for India against the Australians but even that is not the case. Manoj Tiwary who is in splendid form will lead Bengal in the absence of the senior most player. Two of the U19 players are also included. Those two are Ishan Porel and Kanishk Seth. Both have been given a chance to prove themselves at the national level.


Anustup Majumdar also has been named as he has returned to play for his state after a stint with the Railways. While Pramod Chandra and Veer Pratap Singh are on standby.

Vijay Shankar led South Zone registered their first win in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy yesterday and now he has been named the captain of the Tamil Nadu squad as well. There are players like Dinesh Karthik and the Baba brothers in the squad as Vinay Kumar and Abhinav Mukund are the absentees.

Also read- Anil Kumble delighted with the transformation of Virat Kohli as a cricketer

Vinay misses out due to injury while Mukund is busy preparing for the upcoming Tests against the Australia. He is in the squad for the first two Tests against the Aussies.

Bengal Squad:

Manoj Tiwary (c), Shreevats Goswami, Sudip Chatterjee, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Abhishek Raman, Debabrata Das, Anustup Majumdar, Pankaj Shaw, Writtick Chatterjee, Pragyan Ojha, Aamir Gani, Ashoke Dinda, Sayan Ghosh, Kanishk Seth, Ishan Porel, Mukesh Kumar.

Stand-byes: Pramod Chandra, Veer Pratap Singh.

Tamil Nadu Squad:

Vijay Shankar (C), W. Anthony Dhas, Dinesh Karthik, R. Rohit, Baba Aprajith, Baba Indrajith, V. Ganga Sridhar Raju, Washington Sundar, Kaushik Gandhi, Rahil Shah, N Jagadeesan, Murugan Ashwin, Aswin Christ, Sai Kishore, M Mohammed, S. Radhakrishnan.