IPL 2023: Most Ducks in IPL History

In any form of cricket, one thing that a batsman absolutely hates is getting out for a duck.

View : 11.7K

11 Min Read

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma is in the top position with 14 ducks to his name. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

In any form of cricket, one thing that a batsman absolutely hates is getting out for a duck. It is true for T20 cricket and IPL as well. There are some instances when a player gets nervous in the first few balls and often goes to the pavilion without scoring a run in such cases. That is one of the reasons why some players breathe a sigh of relief when they get their first run of the innings. In this article, we will be discussing the players who have registered most ducks in IPL history.     

Dinesh Karthik tops the chart with 17 ducks to his name he is followed by Rohit Sharma, with 16 ducks in the second position who has led the Mumbai team to multiple titles, has scored 6211 runs at an average of 29.57 in 238 innings. Mandeep Singh and Sunil Narine share the joint-third position with 15 ducks in the history of IPL. Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey and Glenn Maxwell are tied in the fourth position with 14 naughts. Ambati Rayudu also had a dominating impact in the league and was instrumental in CSK’s title-winning campaign in 2018. He has amassed 4312 runs at an average of 28.67 and a strike rate of 127.12 in the league. 

Few Big Names in a Not-So-Elite IPL List

There are five players tied in the fifth spot and they are Harbhajan Singh, Parthiv Patel, Ajinkya Rahane, Rashid Khan and Piyush Chawla. Ajinkya Rahane has played 171 IPL games so far in which he has scored 4373 runs at an average of 31.01 and strike rate of 123.11. He has been part of four teams in the league and also captained Rajasthan Royals earlier. He was bought by Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the mega auction of 2022. Wicketkeeper-batsman Parthiv Patel, who announced his retirement, was part of the RCB squad in the last few years. He has scored 2848 runs at an average of 22.60 and strike-rate of 120.78.

Gautam Gambhir, the former KKR captain Gautam Gambhir is in the sixth position with 12 ducks. He bagged a hat-trick of ducks in IPL 2014. He scored 4217 runs in IPL at an average of 31.00 and strike-rate of 123.88. Under his captaincy, KKR won the trophy in the 2012 and 2014 seasons.       

Most Ducks in IPL History:

Player  Innings Ducks
Dinesh Karthik 221 17
Rohit Sharma 238 16
Mandeep Singh 98 15
Sunil Narine 96 15
Manish Pandey 158 14
Ambati Rayudu 186 14
Glenn Maxwell 120 14
Harbhajan Singh 90 13
 Parthiv Patel 137 13
Rashid Khan 51 13
Ajinkya Rahane 158 13
Piyush Chawla 86 13

*Last updated on 30th May  2023

For all the latest IPL News, live scores, schedule, point table & updates, stay tuned to CricTracker.

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store