IPL 2023: Most man of the match awards in IPL history

In any match of the IPL, the player having the most impactful performance is given the Player of the Match award.

View : 6.1K

7 Min Read

AB de Villiers IPL
AB de Villiers celebration. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

In every season of the IPL, we see players displaying incredible skills to help their teams win crucial games. In any match of the cash-rich league, the player having the most impactful performance is awarded the Player of the Match.

The role of these cricketers is vital in helping their side dominate the oppositions. It is not necessary that a player scoring most runs or picking up most wickets will always get the award. Sometimes, it depends upon the situation in which the particular cricketer has performed to take his team to a win.

In this article, we will be listing out the players who have won most player of the match awards in IPL:

5. MS Dhoni -17

MS Dhoni has played the most games (220) in IPL and has scored 4746 runs at an average of 39.55 and strike rate of 135.83. He has won 17 ‘Player of the Match’ awards in IPL and is fifth in the record tally. Under his captaincy, CSK won the title in 2010, 2011, 2018 and 2021. He has won many matches for CSK batting deep in the innings and is considered among the greatest finishers of the T20 format. 

4. David Warner – 18

David Warner has  won the Player of the Match award 18 times. and is fourth-most in this list He led Sunrisers Hyderabad to win the title in the 2016 season, where he scored 848 runs. In total, Warner has made 6090 runs at a strike rate of 140.92 and an average of 42.23. He also holds the record for scoring the most fifties (50) in the tournament history.

Check CSK Schedule with the latest updates on the schedule announcement

3. Rohit Sharma -19 

Rohit Sharma, with 19 Player of the Match awards, is in the first position among Indian players and third overall. He is arguably the most successful captain in IPL history, with Mumbai Indians winning five titles under him. The impactful innings which Rohit plays can hamper the chances of opposition to a great extent. The prolific batsman has accumulated 5880 runs in the cash-rich league at an average of 30.15 and strike rate of 139.63. Along with Rohit, 

2. Chris Gayle – 22

The ‘Universe Boss’ Chris Gayle has established himself as the greatest ever T20 cricketer with consistent performance over the years. It is a rarity for a team to lose the match if Gayle scores big for them in a particular inning. The left-hander has won the Player of the Match award 22 times in the league. He has 4965 runs to his name in the IPL at an impressive strike rate of 148.96. He has smashed a record six hundreds and 31 half-centuries in the tournament history so far.

1. AB de Villiers – 25

Just like MS Dhoni, the South African batsman AB de Villiers also has established himself among the prime finishers of T20 cricket. The stylish batsman has won 25 awards in league history, which is the most by any player. He has amassed 5162 runs in 170 innings with an incredible strike rate of 151.68. The star batter decided to quit from all forms of cricket in November 2021 nd his fans wont be able to witness his blitz from the upcoming 2022 edition.

Most Player of the Match Awards in the IPL:

Player Matches Runs Awards
AB de Villiers 184 5162 25
Chris Gayle 142 4965 22
Rohit Sharma 243 6211 19
David Warner 176 6397 18
MS Dhoni 250 5082 17
Yusuf Pathan 174 3204 16
Shane Watson 145 3874 16

*Last Updated: 30th May 2023.

For all the latest IPL live score, news, IPL schedule, point table & updates, stay tuned to CricTracker.

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store