MS Dhoni Makes a Rare Error by Not Opting for DRS | CricTracker

MS Dhoni makes a rare error by not opting for DRS

The umpire would’ve had to reverse the decision if the review was taken.

MS Dhoni | Dhoni Rare DRS Mistake
MS Dhoni. (Photo Source: Twitter)

MS Dhoni has been an enigma when it comes to making successful use of the Decision Review System (DRS). The probability of him making the right call has been so good that fans often refer to it as the ‘Dhoni Review System’. However, after all, he’s a human and for a change, he did seem to get it wrong this time around.

During the 14th over, Indian’s chinaman Kuldeep Yadav spun one which hit Sadeera Samarawickrama low in the pads. The Indian players appealed in unison as the umpire judged it not out. Kuldeep who was in the best position to asses where the ball hit the batsman watched as the skipper Rohit Sharma and Dhoni discussed whether to go for the review or not.

From the looks, it seemed Rohit wanted to have a check but decided to stick to the senior pro’s decision. However, in the next over when the replays were shown, hawk eye showed three reds which meant it was out. The umpire would’ve had to reverse the decision if the review was taken.

Nevertheless, Kuldeep made merry of the Sri Lankan batsmen as the game progressed. He went on to pick up three wickets including the all important one of Upul Tharanga who looked set for a century. He ended up with figures of 3/42 and was also adjudged the man of the match.

While Dhoni didn’t get to bat, he managed to create an impact on the field. Though he’s not the captain anymore, he has a huge involvement in the decision making that takes place in the field. Since he is one of the finest readers of the game he often pitches in advice to the bowlers and both the spinners Kuldeep and Yuzvendra Chahal benefitted from it last night.

He also effected another lightning stumping. Tharanga’s journey was cut short thanks to Dhoni’s skill behind the stumps. The opener was looking all set to reach his fourth century before he stepped just marginally out of the crease. With Dhoni donning the wicket keeping gloves, there was little hope he would survive once the ball beat him.

Watch the video here