Multan Sultans eye Kolkata Knight Riders physio Andrew Leipus for PSL

Multan Sultans eye Kolkata Knight Riders physio Andrew Leipus for PSL

Andrew Leipus has earlier worked with the Indian cricket team.

Multan Sultans Team Logo
Multan Sultans Team Logo. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Pakistan Super League (PSL) franchise Multan Sultans are set to sign Kolkata Knight Rider’s physio Andrew Leipus.  He has earlier worked with the Indian cricket team and is currently working with the IPL side KKR. As per Geo news, Leipus will join the Multan set up soon. It has also been reported that the franchise is trying to rope in former Test batsman Mohammad Wasim for the role of the batting coach.

Wasim has represented Pakistan in 18 Test matches and 25 ODIs in a career that spanned over four years-1996 to 2000. Tom Moody has already been appointed as the head coach of the side while former Test cricketer Nadeem Khan has been named as the manager of the team.

“Multan Sultans have gone for experience and a strong Pakistani core with this selection,” said Asher Schon, President Multan Sultans. “We would like to welcome the first nine Sultans on board and we can’t wait for the main draft to build on this selection.” he said.

Strong line-up

The side picked their first nine players from the expansion draft- Shoaib Malik (Platinum), Kieron Pollard (Platinum), Kumar Sangakarra (Diamond & Mentor), Sohail Tanvir (Diamond), Mohammad Irfan (Gold & Ambassador), Junaid Khan (Gold), Sohaib Maqsood (Silver), Kashif Bhatti (Silver), Irfan Khan (Silver).

The PCB had earlier on Thursday announced the date for the PSL third edition’s draft, where all the six franchises including Multan Sultans will pick players for their squad.  “The draft will be held on November 12 in Lahore,” said a spokesman for the PCB. “Top international stars including Chris Lynn, JP Duminy, Mitchell Johnson, Dwayne Bravo, Imran Tahir, Angelo Mathews, Luke Ronchi, Colin Ingram, Wayne Parnell, and John Hastings have put their name forward for the HBL PSL Player Draft,” added the spokesman.

“These players will join a star-studded PSL poll including the likes of Shoaib Malik, Brendon McCullum, Mohammad Amir, Kevin Pietersen, Hasan Ali, Darren Sammy, Shahid Afridi, Shadab Khan, Andre Russell, Shakib al Hasan, Kumar Sangakkara and many more T20 stars,” the spokesman said,