Multan Sultans vs Lahore Qalandars Head to Head record in PSL history

Can Lahore Qalandars beat the in-form Multan Sultans and lift their maiden PSL trophy?

Lahore Qalandars
Lahore Qalandars. (Photo by ARIF ALI/AFP via Getty Images)
Pawan Ashok Sharma

Jr. Statistician

View : 1.1K

3 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on :

Multan Sultans and Lahore Qalandars meet in the summit clash of the PSL 2022 on February 27th, 2022 at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. Both sides will play the final of the seventh edition of the Pakistan Super League in the most awaited clash after all the dramatic and action-packed matches the tournament witnessed over the course of the last month.

Multan Sultans are the defending champions as they won last year’s PSL by defeating Peshawar Zalmi in the finals. Lahore Qalandars have never ever lifted the trophy with the team finishing as runners-up in the 2020 season. In terms of head-to-head record, both sides have clashed in 12 matches in the history of PSL with Sultans winning seven times and Qalandars five times.

Head-to-Head record in PSL history:

Matches Won by MS Won by LQ No Result
12 7 5 0

Top performers:

The man who is in red-hot form, Fakhar Zaman has amassed the most runs (524) in matches between these two sides followed by Shan Masood (248) and Mohammad Rizwan (233). Destructive Australian opener Chris Lynn has the highest score of 113*. In terms of wickets tally, Shaheen Afridi leads the chart with 22 scalps followed by Shahnawaz Dahani (11) and Imran Tahir and Haris Rauf with nine wickets each.

Last meeting:

Multan and Lahore last met in the Qualifier match on February 23 of the ongoing PSL seven season at today’s venue. The Sultans batted first and posted 163/2 courtesy of half-centuries from skipper Mohammad Rizwan and Rilee Rossouw. In reply, Fakhar Zaman struck a fifty but he got support from no other batter as the Qalandars got defeated by 28 runs and Rizwan led his side straight into the final.

Multan Sultans vs Lahore Qalandars match results:

Date Winner Won by Venue
Feb 23, 2022 Multan Sultans 28 Runs Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
Feb 11, 2022 Lahore Qalandars 52 Runs Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
Jan 29, 2022 Multan Sultans 5 Wickets National Stadium, Karachi
Jun 18, 2021 Multan Sultans 80 Runs Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi
Feb 26, 2021 Multan Sultans 7 Wickets National Stadium, Karachi
Nov 15, 2020 Lahore Qalandars 25 Runs National Stadium, Karachi
Mar 15, 2020 Lahore Qalandars 9 Wickets Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
Feb 21, 2020 Multan Sultans 5 Wickets Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
Mar 11, 20219 Multan Sultans 7 Wickets National Stadium, Karachi
Feb 22, 2019 Lahore Qalandars 6 Wickets Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah
Mar 9, 2018 Lahore Qalandars 6 Wickets Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai
Feb 23, 2018 Multan Sultans 43 Runs Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai